IOM3 congratulates the winners of the 2021 IOM3 Awards, Medals and Prizes, as listed below. The awards were presented on 7 December 2021.

Premier Awards

John James Ferriola

Bessemer Gold Medal

John James Ferriola

Prof Maria-Magdalena Titirici ProfGradIMMM
Robin Hickson CEng CSci FIMMM

Medal for Excellence

Robin Hickson CEng CSci FIMMM

Dr Stella Pedrazzini MIMMM
Stuart Patrick FIMMM

Sir Andrew Bryan Medal

Stuart Patrick FIMMM

Awards for Personal Achievement

Gold Medal
Awarded to Dr Richard P Thackray MIMMM

Colwyn Medal
Awarded to Prof Liqun Zhang

Dowding Medal & Prize
Awarded to Joseph Lee CEng MIMMM

Frank Fitzgerald Medal & Travel Grant
Awarded to Dr Nathan Cooze CEng CSci MIMMM

Futers Gold Medal 
Awarded to Prof Samuel Kingman CEng FIMMM

Grunfeld Memorial Award & Medal
Awarded to Dr Edward J Pickering CEng CSci MIMMM

Hadfield Medal & Prize
Awarded to Dr David Hanlon

Harvey Flower Titanium Prize 2020 (retrospective)
Awarded to Dr Thomas B (Ben) Britton CEng CSci FIMMM

Hume-Rothery Prize
Awarded to Dr Bengt Hallstedt

Institute's Technician Medal
Awarded to Bernard Donnachie IEng FIMMM

Ivor Jenkins Medal
Awarded to Roger Lawcock CEng FIMMM

John Hunt Medal
Awarded to Prof Peter Lee FREng CEng CSci FIMMM

Kroll Medal & Prize
Awarded to Prof K L Choy FIMMM

Leslie Holliday Prize
Awarded to Dr Faye Smith CEng FIMMM

Local Society of the Year Award
MIME-Midland Institute of Mining Engineers

Outstanding Contribution Awards
Awarded to Mr George Lee CEng FIMMM

Platinum Medal
Awarded to Prof William E Lee FREng

Robert Perrin Award
Awarded to Dr Grant Gibson

Rosenhain Medal & Prize
Awarded to Dr Robert Lianqi Zhao Hoye CEng CSci FIMMM

Rowbotham Medal
Awarded to Mr John McQuilliam

Stokowiec Medal & Prize
Awarded to Mr Stephen Bastow

T B Marsden Professional Medal
Awarded to Mr Melvyn G Warrender CEng FIMMM

Thomas Medal & Prize
Awarded to Mrs Gill Thornton

Thornton Medal
Awarded to Prof Dave Worsley FIMMM

Tom Colclough Medal & Prize
Awarded to Mr Matt Green CEng MIMMM

Verulam Medal & Prize
Awarded to Prof Eduardo Saiz

Publication Awards

Adrian Normanton Prize
Modelling the cumulative effect of scrap usage within a circular UK steel industry – residual element aggregation
Stephen Spooner, Claire Davis & Zushu Li

Billiton Gold Medal
Investigation of microwave reduction of low-grade banded iron ores
Veeranjaneyulu Rayapudi & Nikhil Dhawan

Douglas Hay Medal
Value chain excellence: Managing variability to stabilise and exploit the mine value chain
Martyn L Bloss, Geoff W Capes, Russell Seib, Liam V Alford, Jack L Light, Ilnur Minniakhmetov & Chris Nielsen

James S Walker Award
Potential Route to Re-processable Natural Rubber via Disulfide – Metathesis reaction
Mr Mohammed Deera

Materials World Medal
Money talks
Carina Joannidis

Pfeil Award
A theoretical analysis of cold sintering
M. Biesuz, G. Taveri, A. Duff, E. Olevsky, D. Zhu, C. Hu, S. Grasso

Vanadium Award
Influences of Vanadium and Silicon on Case Hardness and Residual Stress of Nitrided Medium Carbon Steels
J. Klemm-Toole, M. Burnett, A. J. Clarke, J. G. Speer, & K. O. Findley

Williams Award
Characterisation of the burden behaviour of iron ore pellets mixed with nut coke under simulated blast furnace conditions
Dharm Jeet Gavel, Qingshi Song, Allert Adema, Jan van der Stel, Jilt Sietsma, Rob Boom & Yongxiang Yang

Awards from other bodies 2021

Beilby Medal & Prize
Dr Pola Goldberg Oppenheimer (University of Birmingham & Institute of Healthcare Technologies)

Charles Hatchett Award
Giant piezoelectricity in oxide thin films with nanopillar structure 
Huajun Liu, Haijun Wu, Khuong Phuong Ong, Tiannan Yang, Ping Yang, Pranab Kumar Das, Xiao Chi, Yang Zhang, Caozheng Diao, Wai Kong Alaric Wong, Eh Piew Chew, Yi Fan Chen, Chee Kiang Ivan Tan, Andrivo Rusydi, Mark B. H. Breese, David J. Singh, Long-Qing Chen, Stephen J Pennycook, Kui Yao

Not available in 2021

The following were not avaliable in 2021

  • Frank Paine Packaging Award
  • Hancock Medal
  • Swinburne Medal
  • Award for innovation in defence, safety & security materials
  • Tom Bell Surface Engineering Medal