IOM3 congratulates the winners of the 2019 IOM3 Awards, Medals and Prizes, as listed below. The awards were presented at the 2019 Awards & Gala Dinner at the Science Museum on 13 July.

Premier Awards

Jon Bolton

Bessemer Gold Medal

Jon Bolton

Prof John Fisher FREng CEng CSci FIMechE FIPEM
Sandy Gray MAusIMM

Futers Gold Medal

Sandy Gray MAusIMM

Dr Geoff Scamans CEng FIMMM
Prof David Jones FREng FIAE FIMMM FRSS FRSC CStat CEng CChem
Prof Robert Young FRS FREng CEng FIMMM
Prof Roger W Whatmore FREng CEng FIMMM
Dr Kate Thornton CEng MIMMM
Barry Lye CEng CSci FIMMM

Sir Andrew Bryan Medal

Barry Lye CEng CSci FIMMM

Dr Russell Goodall CEng FIMMM

Sir Colin Humphreys Education Award

Dr Russell Goodall CEng FIMMM

Dr C Michael Roland

Colwyn Medal

Dr C Michael Roland


Prince Philip Award


Awards for Personal Achievement

2018 Harvey Flower Titanium Prize (Retrospective)
Dr Kate Fox CEng MIMMM 

Dowding Medal & Prize 
Prof Jesus Talamantes-Silva 

Grunfeld Memorial Award & Medal
Dr Roberto Morana CEng MIMMM

Frank Fitzgerald Medal &Travel Grant 
Dr Hollie Cockings ProfGradIMM

Hadfield Medal & Prize 
Prof Claire Davis CEng FIMMM

Hume Rothery Prize   
Dr Suzana G Fries

Ivor Jenkins Medal
Dr Leo Prakash (posthumous)

James S Walker Award 
Eleanor Howland

Kroll Medal & Prize
Prof Duncan Gregory FIMMM 

Leslie Holliday 
Dr Rod Martin CEng CSci FIMMM

Institute’s Technician Medal (joint)
Mitchell Greener ProfGradIMMM
Tomasz Zalewski TIMMM

Local Society of the Year (Large)
South Wales Materials Association (SWMA)

Local Society of the Year (Small)
East Midlands Materials Society (EMMS)

Local Society of the Year (Special Commendation)
Western Institute of Mining & Minerals, (WestIMM)

Outstanding Contribution Awards
James Shields CEng FIMMM
Dr Gene Donald Spenceley MBE FIMMM
Prof Ivor Rex Harris FIMMM 

Stockwiec Medal & Prize 
Martin John Rawson CEng FIMMM

Robert Perrin Award
Dr Rachael Ambury CEng CSci FIMMM

Rosenhain Medal & Prize
Dr Christopher Gourlay ProfGradIMM

T B Marsden Professional Award
Deborah Keighley CEng MIMMM

Thomas Medal & Prize 
Prize Dr Edwin Jackson CEng MIMMM

Thornton Medal
Ivor Tedbury

Tom Colclough Medal & Prize 
Andrew Dunsmore CEng MIMMM

Verulam Medal & Prize
Prof Luc Vandeperre FIMMM FHEA

Awards for Published Work

Adrian Normanton Award
Improved cold-finger measurement of heat flux through solidified mould flux
Ironmaking & Steelmaking, 2018, 45:6, 502-508
K L S Assis & P C Pistorius

Alan Glanvill Award
Highly stretchable and sensitive strain sensors using nano-graphene coated natural rubber
Plastics, Rubber and Composites, (2017) 46:7, 301-305, DOI: 10.1080/14658011.2017.1336345
S Tadakaluru, T Kumpika, E Kantarak, W Sroila, A Panthawan, P Sanmuangmoon, W Thongsuwan & P Singjai

Composite Award
Progressive failure analysis of carbon-fibre/epoxy composites laminates to study the effect of stitch densities under in-plane tensile loading
Plastics, Rubber and Composites, (2017) 46:4, 147-154, DOI: 10.1080/14658011.2017.1300124
Prabij Joshi, Atsushi Kondo & Naoyuki Watanabe

Materials World Medal
Sulphur gets flexible for plastic production - Joseph Bear

Pfeil Award
Zirconia ceramics in metal-free implant dentistry
Advances in Applied Ceramics, (2017) 116:3, 138-150, DOI: 10.1080/14736753.2016.1264537
J Han, J Zhao & Z Shen

Wardell Armstrong Prize
Carbonatites: Related ore deposits, resources, footprint and exploration methods
Applied Earth Science, (2018), 127:4, 123-152, DOI: 10.1080/25726838.2018.1516935
G Simandl & S Paradis

Williams Award
Liquid metal embrittlement during resistance spot welding of Zn-coated high-strength steels, 
Materials Science and Technology, 2018, 34:15, 1809-1829
Diptak Bhattacharya

Awards from Other Bodies

Beilby Medal & Prize
Prashant Jain (University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign)

Charles Hatchett Award
Niobium tungsten oxides for high-rate lithium energy storage
Kent Griffith, Kamila Wiaderek, Giannantonio Cibin, Lauren Marbella, Clare Grey

Vanadium Award 2018 (Retrospective)
Influence of vanadium on the hydrogen embrittlement of aluminized ultrahigh strength press hardening steel
Materials Science and Engineering: A 735 (2018): 448-455
L Cho, E J Seo, D H Sulistiyo, K R Jo, S W Kim, J K Oh, Y R Cho & B C De Cooman,

Awards & Prizes not awarded in 2019

Rowbotham Medal

Institute’s International Medal

Roy T Holland Award

Medal for Excellence

John Hunt Medal

The Frank Paine Packaging Award

Hancock Medal

Swinburne Medal & Prize

Tom Bell Surface Engineering Medal