IOM3 congratulates the winners of the 2018 IOM3 Awards, Medals and Prizes, as listed below.  

Premier Awards

Prof Indira Samarasekera FRSC FCAE DSc OC
Prof Sheila MacNeil

Chapman Medal

Prof Sheila MacNeil

Christine Blackmore CSci CEng FIMMM
Materials Strategic Partnership
Prof Ruth Cameron FIMMM

Griffith Medal & Prize

Prof Ruth Cameron FIMMM

FAME (Flexible And Mobile Economic Mineral Processing Technologies)
Prof Neil Alford MBE FREng

Platinum Medal (Joint)

Prof Neil Alford MBE FREng

Prof Philip John Withers FRS FREng FRAeS FIMMM
Dr Anna Ploszajski EngD MRes MEng
Andrew Raine CEng FIMMM

Sir Andrew Bryan Medal

Andrew Raine CEng FIMMM

Susan V McLaren

Sir Colin Humphreys Education Award

Susan V McLaren

Awards for Personal Achievement

2017 Harvey Flower Titanium Prize (Retrospective)
Bill Swale

Dowding Medal & Prize 
Damian Shipton

Grunfeld Memorial Award & Medal
Jack Strong

Frank Fitzgerald Medal & Travel Grant 
Alireza Valizadeh

Frank Paine Packaging Award 
David Edwards CSci FIMMM

Hadfield Medal & Prize 
Prof Jay Jaiswal

Hancock Medal  
Dr Alan Muhr CEng

Hume Rothery Prize   
Prof Kallarackel Thomas Jacob

Ivor Jenkins Medal
David Whittaker CEng FIMMM

James S Walker Award 
Tabitha Jones 

John Hunt Medal 
Prof Lindsay Greer 

Kroll Medal & Prize
Prof Judith Driscoll 

Leslie Holliday 
Prof Mike Hinton 

Institute’s International Medal
Tim Leung FIMMM

Institute’s Technician Medal
James Watson EngTech TIMMM

Local Society of the Year (Large)
IOM3 Hong Kong Branch

Local Society of the Year (Small)

Outstanding Contribution Awards
Professor Craig Davies CEng FIMMM 
John McGrath CEng FIMMM 

Robert Perrin Award
Gervais Sawyer FIMMM

Stockwiec Medal & Prize 
Dr Rebecca Higginson CEng CSci FRMS FIMMM 

Swinburne Medal & Prize 
Prof C Bastiaansen

Robert Perrin Award
Gervais Sawyer CEng FIMMM

Rosenhain Medal & Prize

Rowbotham Medal
Adrian Tautscher 

Roy T Holland Medal & Prize 
Dr Phil Jackson 

T B Marsden Professional Award
Dr Mick May FIMMM FREng 

Thomas Medal & Prize 
Prof Abdel-Hady El-Geassy CEng FIMMM 

Thornton Medal
Assoc Prof Mark Everard 

Tom Bell Surface Engineering Medal 
Prof Allan Matthews FREng 

Tom Colclough Medal & Prize 
Dr Norman A McPherson CEng FIMMM 

Verulam Medal & Prize
Professor Jingzhe Pan 

Publication Awards

Adrian Normanton Award
A manganese distribution prediction model for CaO–SiO2–FeO–MgO–MnO–Al2O3 slags based on IMCT
Ironmaking & Steelmaking, 44:3, 168-184, DOI: 10.1080/03019233.2016.1198859
S Duan, X L Guo, H J Guo & J Guo

Alan Glanvill Award
Evaluation of commercial Mg(OH)2, Al(OH)3 and TiO2 as antimicrobial additives in thermoplastic elastomers 
Plastics, Rubber and Composites, 46:5, 223-230, DOI: 10.1080/14658011.2017.1314412 
M Pittol, D Tomacheski, D N Simões, V Ferreira, R R Marlene & C Santana

Billiton Gold Medal 
Understanding ferrovanadium smelting through computational thermodynamics modelling
Mineral Processing and Extractive Metallurgy, 125:1, 45-55
D. R. Swinbourne, T. Richardson & F. Cabalteja

Composite Award
Understanding physical changes and strength loss of Eglass fibres following exposure to elevated temperatures
Materials Science and Technology, 33:3, 255-264, DOI: 10.1080/02670836.2016.1180743
P G Jenkins

Cook/Ablett Award
Gamma-gamma prime-gamma double prime dual-superlattice superalloys
Scripta Materialia 2017, volume 136, pages 136-140
P Mignanelli, N Jones, E Pickering, M Hardy, O Messe, C Rae & H Stone

Douglas Hay Medal
Characterisation of burst-prone grounds at Vale’s Creighton Mine
Mining Technology, 126:3, 123-138, DOI: 10.1080/14749009.2016.1252093
P Morissette, J Hadjigeorgiou & A Punkkinen

Guy Bengough Award
Characterising the early stages of crack development in environment-assisted cracking
Corrosion Engineering, Science and Technology, 52:7, 533-540
A Turnbull

Mann Redmayne Medal A
Globally optimising open pit and underground mining operations under geological uncertainty
Mining Technology, 125:1, 2-14, DOI: 10.1179/1743286315Y.0000000027
L Montiel, R Dimitrakopoulos & K Kawahata

Mann Redmayne Medal B
Host rock geochemistry, texture and chemical composition of magnetite in iron ore in the Neoarchaean Nyong unit in southern Cameroon
Applied Earth Science, 126:3, 129-145, DOI: 10.1080/03717453.2017.1345507
N N Chombongm, C E Suh, B Lehmann, A Vishiti, D C Ilouga, E M Shemang, B S Tantoh & A C Kedia

Mann Redmayne Medal C
Targeting fluorescent lamp waste for the recovery of cerium, lanthanum, europium, gadolinium, terbium and yttrium
Mineral Processing and Extractive Metallurgy, 125:4, 199-203
C Tunsu, C Ekberg, M Foreman & T Retegan

Materials World Medal (joint)
Dr Anita Parbhakar-Fox
Matt Buckley

Pfeil Award
Review of flash sintering: materials, mechanisms and modelling
Advances in Applied Ceramics, 116:1, 24-60, DOI: 10.1080/17436753.2016.1251051
M Yu, S Grasso, R Mckinnon, T Saunders & M Reece

Wardell Armstrong Prize
Australia: geology and mineral resources
Applied Earth Science, 125:3, 121-127, DOI: 10.1080/03717453.2016.1199505
D Klingner & C A Standing

Williams Award
Sulphur removal in ironmaking and oxygen steelmaking
Ironmaking & Steelmaking, 44:5, 333-343, DOI: 10.1080/03019233.2017.1303914
F N H Schrama, E M Beunder, B Van den Berg, Y Yang & R Boom

Awards from other bodies

2017 Vanadium Award (Retrospective)
Structure-properties relationship of ultra-fine grained V-microalloyed dual phase steels
Materials Science and Engineering: A, vol. 703, 2017, pp. 293-303
C P Scott, F Fazeli, B S Amirkhiz, I Pushkareva & S Y P Allain

Beilby Medal & Prize
G Beckham 

Charles Hatchett Award
Unraveling the nature of anomalously fast energy storage in T-Nb2O5
Journal of the American Chemical Society, 139 (2017), 7071-7081
D Chen, J Wang, T F Chou, B Zhao, M A El-Sayed & M Liu