Search IOM3 awards, grants & prizes

The full list of IOM3 awards, medals, prizes and grants searchable by discipline, eligibility, type and career stage

Displaying 37 of 37 results
Active filters: Open to non-members

Sir Colin Humphreys Education Award

Recognising excellence in enhancing students' literacy in STEM through the teaching of materials, minerals and mining in the 5-18 education sector.

Award for Innovation in Defence, Safety & Security Materials

For innovation in any scientific/technological field supporting materials for defence, safety or security applications.

Williams Award

For a paper of particular merit concerned with the manufacture and use of iron and steel.

Stokowiec Medal

For distinguished work on the technical, processing, manufacturing or engineering application of alloy steels.

Thornton Medal

For the best speaker at an IOM3 event

Gold Medal

For significant contribution in materials, minerals or mining.

Materials World Medal

For the best feature or review published during the year within the Institute's member magazines.

The Henry Royce Institute Award for Innovation by a Technical Professional

In recognition of the crucial impact that technical professionals make in advancing our technology and understanding of the materials world.

Guy Bengough Award

For a paper published by the Institute on the subject of corrosion and degradation.

Verulam Medal

In recognition of distinguished contributions to ceramics including refractories.

Circular Economy

Recognising good practice and innovation towards a more circular economy.

Sustainable Materials Innovation for Net-zero

For contributions made by materials, minerals and mining to the transition to a low carbon resource efficient society.

The Henry Royce Institute Award for Outstanding Contribution by a Technical Professional

In recognition of the input of an exceptional and established technical professional over a sustained period of time.

Hadfield Medal

For distinguished work to metallurgical practice, process/product development, metallurgical understanding or design engineering application of steel.

Harvey Flower Titanium Prize (Retrospective)

To established researchers and materials engineers in the field of titanium.

Vanadium Award (Retrospective)

For the most outstanding paper in the metallurgy and technology of vanadium and its alloys.

Swinburne Medal

For outstanding contribution to the advancement and knowledge of science, engineering or technology of plastics.

Roy T Holland Award

In recognition of meritorious service in manufacture and technology within the traditional ceramics industry.

Robert Perrin Award

For outstanding and sustained commitment to Materials Science outreach.

Chapman Medal

For distinguished research in the field of biomedical materials.

Colwyn Medal (Not available in 2024)

For outstanding services to the rubber industry.

Frank Paine Packaging Award

For outstanding contribution to the Packaging community on a global basis.

Alan Glanvill Award

For published work of particular merit in the field of polymers.

Bessemer Gold Medal

For outstanding services to the steel industry.

Sustainable Natural Resource Management

Celebrating projects and initiatives that exemplify the principles of responsible resource stewardship, operational excellence, and value chain sustainability.

Inclusive Practices & Social Responsibility

Recognising an organisation’s commitment to create a diverse and inclusive culture that is centred around equality.

Leslie Holliday Prize

In recognition of significant or technological contribution relating to composite materials.

Tom Bell Surface Engineering Medal

In recognition of excellence and outstanding contribution in surface engineering.

Platinum Medal

For outstanding contribution in materials, minerals or mining.

Tom Colclough Medal

In recognition of contribution to microstructure, mechanical properties, fabricability or in-service performance, production or engineering in the iron and steel industry.

Outstanding Contribution Award for EDI

In recognition of significant contribution to and/or promotion of equity, diversity and inclusion in IOM3, and the wider materials, minerals and mining communities.

Prince Philip Award (not available in 2024)

For polymers in the service of mankind.

Thomas Medal

In recognition of scientific or technological contribution to the production or secondary processing of any ferrous alloy.

James S Walker Award

For a student project on the subject of polymers.

Hancock Medal

For outstanding service to the rubber industry.

Adrian Normanton Medal

For the best technical paper on the topic of steelmaking or casting.

Pfeil Award

For published work of particular merit in the field of ceramics.