Chapman Medal

For distinguished research in the field of biomedical materials.

Chapman Medal

The Chapman Medal, is presented for distinguished research in the field of biomedical materials, particularly with respect to biomaterials innovation which has produced benefits for patients and/or contributed to associated opportunities in the industry.

The winner will receive a medal.

Award judging

The award is judged by the IOM3 Biomedical Applications Leadership Team.

Past winners

2021 -
2024 Prof David Jones FREng CEng FIMMM, 2023 Robert Hill, 2022 Prof Rachel Williams, 2021 Not awarded

2003 - 2020
2020 A El Haj, 2019 J Fisher, 2018 S MacNeil, 2017 M Edirisinghe, 2016 D Farrar, 2015 A Lewis, 2014 R Feneley, 2013 Geoffrey Andrews, 2012 N Rushton, 2011 Prof Serena M Best, 2010 Prof James Kirkpatrick, 2009 Dr Dennis C Smith, 2008 Prof Adam Curtis, 2007 Prof David Williams, 2006 B Tighe, 2005 Prof M Braden, 2004 Prof Larry L Hench, 2003 Prof W Bonfield


About Professor Dennis Chapman FRS

The award celebrates the contributions of Prof Dennis Chapman FRS (1927-1999) as a scientist, for his seminal research on phosphorylcholine, and as an entrepreneur, for the founding of Biocompatibles International plc.

Nomination process

The following information is required to submit a nomination:

  • Nominee's title, full name, email address, IOM3 member grade (if applicable) and postnominals, company and position
  • Citation (500 words max) to support your nomination
  • Additional documentation (i.e. letters of support, CV, list of publications) to further support your nomination
  • Details of an external referee (only if the nominee and nominator are from the same organisation).

Please note you may save your nomination as a draft at any point during the process and complete at a later date.