Gold Medal

For significant contribution in materials, minerals or mining.

Gold Medal

(incorporating the Futers Golf Medal)

To a member or non-member of IOM3 in their mid-career in recognition of significant contribution to a field of interest within the materials, minerals or mining sector.

The winner will receive a medal.

Award judging

The award is judged by the IOM3 Awards Committee.

Past winners

2021 -
2023 Prof Iain Todd CEng FIMMM, 2022 Prof Andrew Lewis FREng FIMMM, 2021 Dr Richard P Thackray MIMMM,

2001 - 2020
2019 Geoff Scamans, 2018 H Stone (Materials Strategic Partnership), 2017 (Joint) BP Exploration and Production Co Ltd & Companhia Brasileira de Metalurgia e Mineracao (CBMM), 2016 M White, 2015 Not awarded, 2014 A Sherry, 2013 Luxfer PLC, 2012 Not awarded, 2011 A Matthews, 2010 D Allen, 2009 I Robins, 2008 Anthony J Barnes, 2007 Dr Adrian Normanton, 2006 Dynamic Ceramic, 2005 Ceres Power Ltd, 2004 Airbus UK team, Qinetiq, Aeroform Ltd, M C Bennett Ass Ltd, 2003 Derek Fray, 2002 Prof Roger Grimes



Nomination process

The following information is required to submit a nomination:

  • Nominee's title, full name, email address, IOM3 member grade (if applicable) and postnominals, company and position
  • Citation (500 words max) to support your nomination
  • Additional documentation (i.e. letters of support, CV, list of publications) to further support your nomination
  • Details of an external referee (only if the nominee and nominator are from the same organisation).

Please note you may save your nomination as a draft at any point during the process and complete at a later date.