Awards in the Metals Discipline

Awards for Personal Achievement

Bessemer Gold Medal

For outstanding services to the steel industry. To the inventor or designer of any significant innovation in the processes employed in the manufacture of steel, or for innovation in the use of steel in manufacturing industry or the economy generally. For published work embodying the results of original research on the production of steel or the application to steel and results that have significant potential for economic benefit. For contribution to the development of the steel industry and its importance to the economy nationally and internationally. First awarded 1874. It is expected that the recipient will prepare and deliver the Bessemer Lecture.

Tom Colclough Medal and Prize

In recognition of learned contribution to understanding the microstructure, mechanical properties, fabricability or in-service performance, production or engineering connected with the iron and steel industry. Given alternate years with Dowding. Prize value £300. First awarded 1963.

Dowding Medal and Prize

In recognition of a major contribution to the invention, development or design of metallurgical plant, particularly rolling and finishing, leading to improved economy, yield or quality in metal production. Given alternate years with Colclough. Prize value £300. First awarded 1980.

Frank Fitzgerald Medal and Travel Award

To be awarded to a Member (under 35 years old) of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining who is active in the field of iron and steel and who has demonstrated excellence in, and commitment to, continuing professional development in the form of depth and/or breadth of technical knowledge, or in a personal contribution to promoting the profession. The prize will be a medal and a travel scholarship (value £1,500). Nominees or applicants will be expected to provide a full CV, a statement of how they would use the travel scholarship, and the name of a referee who would support their application. Shortlisted candidates will be invited for interview.

Grunfeld (Dr Paul Grunfeld) Memorial Award and Medal

In recognition of professional contribution that has had significant influence on the engineering application of components made from any alloys in the metallurgical industries. This prize is for people in early to mid-career. Given alternate (odd) years with Stokowiec Medal and Prize. Award value £750 to further the recipient's career. First awarded 1986.

Hadfield (Sir Robert Hadfield) Medal and Prize

In recognition of distinguished achievement in relation to metallurgical practice, process development, product development, metallurgical understanding or design engineering connected with iron and steel or associated industries. Prize value £300. First awarded 1947.

John Hunt Medal and Prize

To an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the science and/or technology of casting and solidification of metals. The award recognises the lifetime contribution of Professor John Hunt FRS and is supported through the General Research Institute of Non-ferous Metals (GRINM) in Beijing.

Stokowiec Medal and Prize

In recognition of distinguished work related to the technical, manufacturing, processing or engineering application of alloy steels. Given alternate (even) years with Grunfeld Memorial Award and Medal. Prize value £300. First awarded 1977.

Thomas (Sidney Gilchrist Thomas) Medal and Prize

In recognition of scientific or technological contribution to the production or secondary processing of any ferrous alloy. Prize value £200. First awarded 1963.

Awards for published work

Cook/Ablett Award

For published work of particular merit in the field of metals.

Adrian Normanton Medal

For the best technical paper on the topic of steelmaking, or casting published in Ironmaking and Steelmaking.

Williams Award

For a paper of particular merit concerned with the manufacture and use of iron and steel.