Awards in the Materials Discipline (not restricted to any one specific class of material)

Awards for Personal Achievement

Gold Medal

A premier award awarded to a company, team or individual who has made a significant contribution to the industrial application of materials.

Silver Medal

A premier award awarded annually to a Younger Member (normally under the age of 30) in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the broad field of materials science, engineering and technology, including promotion of their subject on a national or international basis. Applicants for this award will need to provide a detailed CV, a concise statement of the achievements on which their proposal is based and the names of the two referees (permission required) who may be consulted during the evaluation process.

Rowbotham Medal

An annual award to recognise an outstanding contribution from a young person or team of young people to the development or innovative use of materials for automotive applications.

Chapman Medal

This award celebrates the contributions of Professor Dennis Chapman FRS (1927-1999) as a scientist, for his seminal research on phosphorylcholine, and as an entrepreneur, for the founding of Biocompatibles International plc. Presented for distinguished research in the field of biomedical materials, particularly with respect to biomaterials innovation, which has produced benefits for patients and/or contributed to associated opportunities for industry. Nominations for the Chapman Medal will be made in particular by the Biomedical Applications Division but any individual can also make nominations by the standard procedure. First awarded 2003.

Griffith (A A Griffith) Medal and Prize

In recognition of distinguished work which has made or is making a notable contribution to any branch of materials science. Prize value £300. First awarded 1965.

Hume-Rothery Prize

In recognition of distinguished achievements concerned with phase relationships in metallic materials or non-metallic materials of metallurgical interest. Prize value £300. First awarded 1979.

Ivor Jenkins Medal

In recognition of significant contribution which has enhanced the scientific, industrial or technological understanding of material processing or component production using particulate materials. Significant contribution in management in the particulate engineering field will also be recognised by this award. First awarded 1989.

Kroll Medal and Prize

In recognition of significant contribution which has enhanced the scientific understanding of materials chemistry as applied to the industrial production of materials, normally inorganic. Prize value £300. First awarded 1972.

Platinum Medal

A premier award in recognition of outstanding service to the Institute and to its objectives, or for other outstanding contributions to materials science, technology and industry, nationally or internationally.

Rosenhain Medal and Prize

In recognition of distinguished achievement in any branch of materials science, preference being given to candidates under the age of 40. Prize value £300. First awarded 1951.

Tom Bell Surface Engineering Medal

In recognition of excellence and outstanding contribution of an individual in surface engineering, awarded every two years. The award winner will also be invited to deliver the Institute's prestigious Harold Moore Memorial Lecture in the intervening year. Presented alternate (even) years.

Awards for published work

Guy Bengough Award

For a paper published by the Institute which makes an outstanding contribution to the subject of corrosion and degradation of all types of materials and their control.

Materials World Medal

An annual award to recognise an important feature or review published during the year within the Institute's member magazines. Nominations proposed by the magazine group and members will be reviewed by the Awards Committee. Medal to lead author and certificate to each co-author.