Minerals Process Engineers & Extractive Metallurgists receive IOM3 awards

Mineral Processing & Extractive Metallurgy Division
24 Jul 2017
2017 IOM3 Awards winners, the President, Martin Cox is seated, fourth from left, front row.

IOM3 hosted a black tie event at 297 Euston Road, London to celebrate the Institute’s prestigious awards. These are reported at 2017 IOM3 Awards and will also be the subject of an IOM3TV video.

Three of the awards were presented to Minerals Processing Engineers and Extractive Metallurgists.

The Futers Gold Medal was awarded to Derek J Barratt. Derek is well known and highly respected in the industry for his outstanding work and contribution to minerals engineering, particularly comminution. Derek has been involved in the design of most grinding mills circuits incorporating big SAG mills in the world.

The Medal for Excellence was awarded to Barry Wills who is a practicing Minerals Processor and educator and is the author of the standard work in our discipline “Mineral Processing Technology” and launched the Minerals Engineering journal in 1988.

Tony Francis received the Outstanding Contribution award for his work with IOM3.

The Institute organised a magnificent event with a champagne reception and dinner enjoyed by all those attending. Bernie Rickinson, CEO of the Institute did a splendid job as Master of Ceremonies and the IOM3 President, Martin Cox, presented the awards.

There are many engineers in our community who are deserving of being nominated for appropriate awards. Should you know candidates among your network the process is straightforward via the IOM3 web site, IOM3 Awards Nominations. Nominations for the 2018 awards will be opening later in the year.