Awards in the Polymer Discipline

Awards for Personal Achievement

Colwyn Medal

To an individual for outstanding services to the rubber industry of a scientific, technical or engineering character. Given alternate years with Hancock. First awarded 1928.

Hancock Medal

To an individual for outstanding service to the rubber industry where such services have benefited either the nation, government authorities or industry. Open to members of the Institute of Materials, Minerals & Mining. Given alternate years with Colwyn. First awarded 1951.

Prince Philip Award

For polymers in the service of mankind. Awarded not more than once every two years, not less than once every five years. Instituted to commemorate the presentation of the first Honorary Fellowship of the PRI to HRH the Duke of Edinburgh on 22 May 1973. International, open to all companies, partnerships, associations, societies, academic institutions and only in special circumstances to an exceptional individual. Last awarded 2015.

Swinburne Medal and Prize

To recognise the achievement of a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement and knowledge of any field related to the science, engineering or technology of plastics. Awarded not more than once every two years, not less than once every five years. It is a requirement of acceptance that the recipient shall prepare and deliver the Swinburne Lecture on an occasion selected by the Institute. Award consists of a gold medal and £250 honorarium.
First awarded 1960. Awarded alternate (even) years.

Awards for published work

Alan Glanvill Award

For published work of particular merit in the field of polymers.

James S Walker Award

Presented for a student project on the subject of polymers, which has already been examined. Prize value £350.