28 June 2023
by Alex Brinded

Engineers gallery at London's Science Museum

A new gallery in the Science Museum in London has opened, showcasing engineering innovations through the lens of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

View of new Engineers galley at the Science Museum, London © Science Museum Group

It is hoped that the gallery will inspire younger people and encourage us to push the boundaries of the possible.

The £500,000 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering is for ground-breaking engineering innovation that is of global benefit for humanity.

The 2023 winners are Professor Martin Green, Professor Andrew Blakers, Dr Aihua Wang and Dr Jianhua Zhao for their research work and development of Passivated Emitter and Rear Cell solar photovoltaic technology.

The half-a-million pound prize promotes excellence in engineering and laureates include Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Marc Andersson, Vinton Cert, Robert Kahn and Louis Pouzin for the internet and the World Wide Web in 2013 and Dr Masato Sagawa for the sintered neodymium-iron-boron magnet in 2022.



Alex Brinded

Staff Writer