4 June 2021

IOM3 announces 2021 Award winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Institute's Awards & Prizes for 2021.


Representing the highest achieving individuals and groups in the field of materials, minerals, and mining, IOM3 Awards raise awareness of engineering and scientific excellence and industry best practice.

IOM3 President, Neil Glover CEng FIMMM, said, ‘Once again this year’s awards recognise outstanding contribution and achievement across the full range of IOM3 interests and membership. 2021 winners have all demonstrated exceptional commitment and excellence in their fields and showcase the breadth of relevance of materials, minerals, and mining in today’s world. I send my sincere congratulations to all the winners and look forward to the presentation event, which is always a highlight of our annual calendar.’

The Institute awards, the oldest of which date back to 1874, are prestigious accolades that and celebrate individuals and organisations who have made exceptional advancements to the profession.

Roger Lawcock CEng FIMMM awarded the Ivor Jenkins Medal, said ‘Thank you so much for this award. I am honoured and thrilled to have received the Ivor Jenkins Medal and actually cannot think of the words to use to express my gratitude to all involved. I did meet Ivor a couple of times in the 1980’s at PM ‘think-tank’ type meetings held in London, I was struck by his combined deep appreciation of academic knowledge and industrial application as well as his strong professional presence.’

Winners of this year’s awards have been acknowledged for personal achievement, published work and outstanding contributions.

A huge congratulations to all this year’s winners. 

I am really pleased and honoured to receive this award.

Prof William E Lee FREng

Platinum Meda

I am very pleased to have been awarded the Terry Marsden Professional Medal. It is particularly pleasing having served on the National Council of the Institution of Metallurgists when Terry was the Secretary.

Mr Melvyn G Warrender CEng FIMMM JP MPhil

T B Marsden Professional Medal