2019 IOM3 awards announced

16 Apr 2019

Congratulations to the winners of the Institute's awards for 2019. The winners will be presented their awards at different occasions throughout the year.

Representing the highest achieving individuals and groups in the field of materials, minerals and mining, the IOM3 Awards raise awareness of engineering excellence and industry best practice.

The Institute awards, which date back to 1874, are renowned for their prestige and accolade, and celebrate individuals who have made exceptional advancements to the profession.

Winners of this year’s awards have been acknowledged for personal achievement, published work and oustanding contributions. The names of the winners are listed below - full details can be found at www.iom3.org/iom3-awards-2019

Personal Achievement Awards

Gold Medal Dr Geoff Scamans CEng FIMMM (Innoval Technology Ltd)

Platinum Medal (joint) Prof Robert Young FRS FREng CEng FIMMM (National Graphene Institute & School of Materials, University of Manchester) & Prof Roger Whatmore FREng CEng FIMMM (Imperial College)

Griffith Medal & Prize Prof David Jones FREng CEng CChem CStat FIMMM FIAE FRSC FRSS (Queen’s University Belfast)

Futers Gold Medal Sandy Gray MAusIMM (Gekko Systems)

Grunfeld Memorial Award & Medal Dr Roberto Morana CEng FIMMM (BP)

Institute’s Technician Medal (joint) Mitchell Greener ProfGradIMMM (Ibstock) & Tomasz Zalewski TIMMM (Rolls-Royce plc)

Thornton Medal Ivo Tedbury (UCL)

Chapman Medal Prof John Fisher FREng CEng CSci FIMechE FIPEM

Outstanding Contribution Awards Mr James Shields CEng FIMMM (BAM Ritchies), Dr Gene Donald Spenceley MBE FIMMM, Prof Ivor Rex Harris FREng CEng FIMMM (University of Birmingham)

Verulam Medal & Prize Prof Luc Vandeperre FIMMM FHEA (Imperial College)

Robert Perrin Award Dr Rachael Ambury CEng CSci FIMMM (E6)

The Colin Humphreys Education Award Dr Russell Goodall CEng FIMMM (University of Sheffield)

Bessemer Gold Medal Jon Bolton (Liberty Steel)

Dowding Medal & Prize Prof Jesus Talamantes-Silva Stannington (University of Sheffield)

Hadfield Medal & Prize Prof Claire Davis CEng FIMMM (University of Warwick)

Stokowiec Medal & Prize Martin John Rawson CEng FIMMM (Rolls-Royce Civil Aerospace)

Thomas Medal & Prize Dr Edwin Jackson CEng MIMMM (Swinden Technology Centre)

Tom Colclough Medal & Prize Andrew Dunsmore CEng MIMMM (Tata Steel)

Local Society of the Year (Large) South Wales Materials Association, SWMA

Local Society of the Year (Small) East Midlands Materials Society, EMMS

Local Society of the Year (Special Commendation) Western Institute of Mining & Minerals, WestIMM

Sir Andrew Bryan Medal Barry Lye CEng CSci FIMMM

Hume Rothery Prize Dr Suzana G Fries (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)

Ivor Jenkins Medal Dr Leo Prakash (posthumous)

Kroll Medal & Prize Prof Duncan Gregory FIMMM (University of Glasgow)

T B Marsden Professional Award Deborah Keighley MBE DL CEng MIMMM (Sellafield Ltd)

Colwyn Medal Dr C Michael Roland (Naval Research Laboratory)

Prince Phillip Award Nextek

Silver Medal Dr Kate Thornton CEng CSci MIMMM (Croda)

Rosenhain Medal & Prize Dr Christopher Gourlay ProfGradIMM (Imperial College)

Leslie Holliday Prize Dr Rod Martin CEng CSci FIMMM (Element Technology)

Frank Fitzgerald Medal & Travel Award Dr Hollie Cockings ProfGradIMMM (Swansea University)

Harvey Flower Titanium Prize 2018 (Retrospective) Dr Kate Fox CEng MIMMM (Rolls-Royce plc)

Publication Awards

James S Walker Award

Local UV and electron beam curing of vacuum-deposited acrylate coatings - Eleanor Howland (University of Oxford)

Adrian Normanton Award

Improved cold-finger measurement of heat flux through solidified mould flux

Ironmaking & Steelmaking, 2018, 45:6, 502-508

K. L. S. Assis & P. C. Pistorius

Alan Glanvill Award

Highly stretchable and sensitive strain sensors using nano-graphene coated natural rubber

Plastics, Rubber and Composites, (2017) 46:7, 301-305, DOI: 10.1080/14658011.2017.1336345

S. Tadakaluru, T. Kumpika, E. Kantarak, W. Sroila, A. Panthawan, P. Sanmuangmoon, W. Thongsuwan & P. Singjai

Composite Award

Progressive failure analysis of carbon-fibre/epoxy composites laminates to study the effect of stitch densities under in-plane tensile loading

Plastics, Rubber and Composites, (2017) 46:4, 147-154, DOI: 10.1080/14658011.2017.1300124

Prabij Joshi, Atsushi Kondo & Naoyuki Watanabe

Pfeil Award

Zirconia ceramics in metal-free implant dentistry

Advances in Applied Ceramics, (2017) 116:3, 138-150, DOI: 10.1080/14736753.2016.1264537

J Han, J Zhao & Z Shen

Williams Award

Liquid metal embrittlement during resistance spot welding of Zn-coated high-strength steels,

Materials Science and Technology, 2018, 34:15, 1809-1829

Diptak Bhattacharya

Materials World Medal

Sulphur gets flexible for plastic production - Joseph Bear

Billiton Gold Medal

An investigation of factors influencing freeze lining behaviour

(2018) Mineral Processing and Extractive Metallurgy, 127:4, 195-209

Tijl Crivits, Peter C. Hayes & Evgueni Jak

Douglas Hay Medal

Quantifying the influence of geotechnical borehole inclination on collecting joint orientation data

(2018) Mining Technology, 127:1, 26-40

Marie-Hélène Fillion & John Hadjigeorgiou

Guy Bengough Award

A reinterpretation of the Romanoff NBS data for corrosion of steels in soils

(2018), Corrosion Engineering, Science and Technology, 53:2, 131-140

R. E. Melchers & R. B. Petersen

Mann Redmayne A

The optimisation of block caving production scheduling with geometallurgical uncertainty – a multi-objective approach

(2018), Mining Technology, 127:3, 131-145

E. Sepúlveda, P. A. Dowd & C. Xu

Wardell Armstrong Prize

Carbonatites: related ore deposits, resources, footprint, and exploration methods

(2018), Applied Earth Science, 127:4, 123-152

George J. Simandl & Suzanne Paradis

Awards from other Bodies

Beilby Medal & Prize

Prashant Jain FRSC (University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign)

Charles Hatchett Award

Niobium tungsten oxides for high-rate lithium energy storage

Kent Griffith, Kamila Wiaderek, Giannantonio Cibin, Lauren Marbella, Clare Grey

Vanadium Award 2018 (Retrospective)

Influence of vanadium on the hydrogen embrittlement of aluminized ultrahigh strength press hardening steel

Materials Science and Engineering: A 735 (2018): 448-455

L Cho, E J Seo, D H Sulistiyo, K R Jo, S W Kim, J K Oh, Y R Cho & B C De Cooman