1. The Society is a non-profit-making organisation known as the "London Materials Society", hereinafter referred to as "the Society".


2. The Society was founded in 1967 as the London Metallurgical Society, which in turn has its roots in the London local section of the Institute of metallurgist which dates back to 1945. The formation of the existing society, took place with the encouragement and support of the Institute of Metals, the Institution of Metallurgists, and the Iron and Steel Institute. In 1985 the Institution of Metallurgists merged with the Metals Society to form the Institute of Metals, which in turn became the Institute of Materials on 1st January 1992.


3. The Society exists to provide a regional service for members of the Institute of Materials, (hereinafter referred to as "the Institute") by promoting the educational and professional interests of materials scientists and technologists primarily in South-East England.


4. With effect from 1st January 1997 all members of the Institute resident or working in South-East England shall as of right be eligible for membership of the Society, which will be granted on receipt of a request for registration. Other members of the Institute are eligible for membership. The Society, through its Council, is empowered to accept, as Associate Members, those who are not members of the Institute.


5. The bulk of the service provided by the Society to its members shall normally be financed by the Institute. Services may also be financed by sponsorship and other fundraising activities. Members may be asked to pay a small contribution towards the cost of special services, such as individual notification of meetings.


6. The affairs of the Society shall be governed by a Council, all the elected members of which shall be members of the Institute.

7. The Council shall include a Chair, Vice-Chair, an Administrative Secretary, a Minutes Secretary, a Publicity Officer, a Treasurer and Representatives.

8. The Council shall consist of the following;

a) The Officers referred to in Rule 7

b) The Chair of the previous year.

c) Nine Ordinary Members, elected at the A.G.M.

9. The Council may, by resolution, co-opt a maximum of three additional Members or Associate Members who shall not be entitled to vote and who shall retire at the Annual General Meeting next following. The quorum for Council shall be five.


10. At the Annual General Meeting an Election shall be held for the posts of Chair, Vice-Chair (2), Administrative Secretary, Minutes Secretary, Treasurer, and Ordinary Members of Council. The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be eligible for a second and final year of office. The Secretaries,Treasurer and Publicity Officer shall be eligible for re-election each year. Ordinary Members of Council shall be elected to serve for not more than six years, and then shall not be eligible for re-election for at least one year.

11. Vacancies remaining from the A.G.M., or occurring during the year, may be filled by the Council.

12. At least seven clear days notice shall be given of each Annual General Meeting, and of any other General Meeting.

13. All nominations must be signed by two members of the Society and be accompanied by the consent, in writing, of the nominee. Nominations may also be made verbally at the A.G.M., with the consent of the nominee.

14. In the event of a contest, voting will be by secret ballot among members attending the Annual General Meeting. Any tie will be resolved by the Chair, who for this purpose will have a second, casting, vote.

15. An Annual General Meeting shall be held each year at intervals not exceeding fifteen months.

16. The business of the Annual General Meeting shall include;

a) Receipt of the financial report, including the audited accounts of the preceding financial year

b) Election of Officers and Ordinary Members of Council as laid down in Rules 7, 8, and 10

c) Receipt of a report from the Administrative Secretary of the Society's activities during the past year.

d) Decision on any motion of which fourteen days notice has been given to the Administrative Secretary.

e) Appointment of an Auditor.

f) Any other matter agreed to by the meeting.

17. The quorum for a General Meeting shall be twenty.


18 The financial year of the Society shall end on 31st December in each year. The Auditor appointed by the Society shall audit the accounts after the end of the financial year and before the Annual General Meeting.


19. The Council shall be the sole authority for the interpretation of these Rules and any regulations made there-under. These Rules may be added to, repealed, or amended by resolution of a General Meeting, notice of which shall have been given according to Rule 12, provided that three-quarters of the members present and entitled to vote are in favour. Voting shall be by show of hands unless at least ten members shall demand a secret ballot.

(Revised May 2015)