Hume-Rothery Prize (not available in 2024)

For distinguished achievements on phase relationships in metallic/non-metallic materials of metallurgical interest.

Hume-Rothery Prize (not available in 2024)

The Hume-Rothery Prize is presented in recognition of distinguished achievements concerned with phase relationships in metallic materials or non-metallic materials of metallurgical interest.

The winner will receive a certificate and £300.00

Award judging

Nominations for the Hume-Rothery Prize are judged by the Materials Chemistry Committee of the IOM3 Materials Science & Technology Division.

Past winners

2022 Not awarded, 2021 Dr Bengt Hallstedt, 2020 Prof Klaus Hack, 2019 S G Fries, 2017 H Ipser, 2016 N Dupin, 2015 J Robson, 2014 A V da Costa e Silva, 2013 Andrew Watson, 2012 G Effenberg, 2011 F Glasser, 2010 Prof Rainer Schmid-Fetzer, 2009 Dr Philip J Spencer, 2008 Dr Jeff Taylor, 2007 Prof Taiji Nishizawa, 2006 A L Greer, 2005 Prof B Sundman, 2004 Dr M H Rand, 2003 Prof A D Pelton, 2002 Dr N Saunders, 2001 Prof V Raghavan, 2000 Dr A T Dinsdale, 1999 Prof R Ferro, 1998 F H Hayes, 1997 Dr T G Chart, 1996 Dr L Kaufman, 1995 Dr I Ansara, 1994 Prof A P Miodownik, 1993 Dr H L Lukas, 1992 H K D H Bhadeshia, 1991 M Hillert, 1990 D Pettifor, 1989 T B Massalski, 1987 D R F West, 1986 F N Rhines


W Hume-Rothery OBE FRS MA PhD DSc FInstP FIM

William Hume-Rothery was born in 1899 and educated at Cheltenham, The Royal Military Academy, Woolwich, Madgalene College, Oxford, and the Royal School of Mines. He was awarded a senior demyship at Magdalen College in 1925 and an Armourers' and Brasiers' Company Research Fellowship during 1929-32. From 1932 to 1942 and again from 1943 to 1955 he was a Royal Society Warren Research Fellow.

Professor Hume-Rothery was a lecturer in Metallurgical Chemistry at Oxford from 1938 to 1955 and was a Fellow of Magdalene College, Oxford, during 1938-43. In 1955 he became George Kelley Reader in Metallurgy at Oxford and in 1958 he was appointed the first Isaac Wolfson Professor of Metallurgy at Oxford University.

In 1934 Professor Hume-Rothery won the George Beilby Memorial Award; in 1937 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society. He was awarded the Institute of Metals Platinum Medal in 1949, the Franklin Institute Francis J Clamer Medal in the same year, the Royal Netherlands Academy Roozeboom Gold Medal in 1950, and the Luigi Losana Prize Medal in 1955. In 1951 he was awarded the OBE.

Professor Hume-Rothery was elected an Honorary Life Member of the American Society for Metals in 1957, an Honorary Member of the Institute of Metals in 1960, and Membre d'Honneur, Societe Francaise de Metallurgie, in 1962. He has been a St Edmund Hall Professional Fellow since 1958 and a Fellow of the Imperial College of Science and Technology since 1963. He joined the Iron and Steel Institute in 1926