Colwyn Medal (Not available in 2024)

For outstanding services to the rubber industry.

Colwyn Medal (Not available in 2024)

The Colwyn Medal is presented to an individual for outstanding service to the rubber industry of a scientific, technical or engineering character.

The winner will receive a medal and is expected to prepare and deliver the Rubber Foundation Lecture.

 Given alternate (odd) years with Hancock Medal.

Award judging

The award is judged by the IOM3 Elastomer Leadership Team.

Past winners

2021 -
2023 Dr Wilma K Dierkes, 2022 Not available, 2021 Prof Liqun Zhang

2001 - 2020
2019 C M Roland, 2017 M Kluppel, 2016 Not awarded, 2015 Gert Heinrich, 2014 Not awarded, 2013 Mark Warner, 2011 R Spontak, 2009 Dr James Busfield, 2007 Dr Keith Fuller, 2003 Not awarded, 2001 Dr J R Dunn

1981 - 2000
1999 Prof K C Frisch, 1997 Dr K A Grosch, 1995 Dr G J Lake, 1993 J M Buist, 1992 A R Williams, 1990 M R Porter, 1989 V F Evstratov, 1988 J B Donnet, 1986 E Holroyd, 1984 A Y Coran, 1981 E W Duck

1961 - 1980
1980 H Mark, 1979 M Morton, 1978 A G Thomas, 1977 A N Gent, 1976 J M J Massoubre, 1975 J Furukawa, 1974 J I Cuneen, 1973 C E H Bawn CBE FRS, 1972 A R Payne, 1971 J D Ferry, 1970 A Schallamach, 1969 B C Sekhar, 1968 W F Watson, 1967 V E Gough, 1966 L Mullins, 1965 W C Wake, 1964 G E Bloomfield, 1963 E W Madge, 1962 C L Bateman, 1961 L R G Treloar

1941 - 1960
1960 Erich Konrad, 1958 J LeBras, 1957 H W Melville FRS, 1956 W B Wiegand, 1955 H N Ridley & C Flaconer-Flint, 1954 P J Flory, 1953 D Parkinson, 1952 G Gee, 1951 C E T Man, 1950 A van Rossem, 1949 E A Murphy, 1948 J R Scott, 1947 R P Dinsmore, 1946 Geo Martin, 1945 W J S Nauton, 1944 S A Brazier OBE, 1943 A Healey, 1941 B J Eaton OBE

1928 - 1940
1940 P Schidrowita & H P Stevens, 1939 S S Pickles, 1938 B D Porritt, 1936 C J Beaver, 1935 D F Twiss, 1934 O de Vires, 1933 W H Paull, 1929 W H Stevens, 1928 G Stafford Whitby



About Lord Colwyn

Lord Colwyn (1859 - 1946) was President of the Institution of the Rubber Industry for the years 1925-29, and during this period did much to increase its scope and activities. He was elected a Fellow in 1944. At the time of his death he was a Vice-President, thus Continuing his interest in its work.

Lord Colwyn presented the Institution with the industry's most coveted award, namely the Colwyn Gold Medal, which is given at the discretion of the Council to member of the industry for conspicuous services.

The RT. Hon. Frederick Henry Smith, first Baron Colwyn, of Colwyn Bay, was also a prominent figure in the cotton industry in Lancashire and as chairman of various Government commissions and committees rendered great services to his country.

Transactions, Institution of the Rubber Industry vol.XXI no.5 February 1946

Nomination process

The following information is required to submit a nomination:

  • Nominee's title, full name, email address, IOM3 member grade (if applicable) and postnominals, company and position
  • Citation (500 words max) to support your nomination
  • Additional documentation (i.e. letters of support, CV, list of publications) to further support your nomination
  • Details of an external referee (only if the nominee and nominator are from the same organisation).

Please note you may save your nomination as a draft at any point during the process and complete at a later date.