31 October 2023
by Alex Brinded

Second woman to ever receive Onassis prize in shipping

Siri Pettersen Strandenes has been awarded the Onassis prize of US$200,000 for her work in shipping.

© william william / unsplash

A Professor emerita at NHH Norwegian School of Economics, Strandenes receives the award for her research on shipping and transport economics, including how environmental regulations have impacted shipping.

In 2002, Strandenes became NHH’s first female professor. She first enrolled as a student at NHH in 1969, alongside 16 other girls in a cohort of 228. Since retiring in 2019, she has published several academic articles.

'It is a great honour to receive the Onassis prize in shipping. It was a big moment for me when I learned about the award. Throughout my research career, I have had a commitment to influencing the world positively through my work in shipping,' says Strandenes.

The Onassis Prizes are awarded every three years by the Onassis Foundation, Bayes Business School, University of London and their Center for Shipping, Trade and Finance. They were established in 1978 due to Greek shipowner Aristotle Onassis, and awarded to researchers and organisations that excel internationally in finance, trade and shipping.

Related topics


Alex Brinded

Staff Writer