Mechanical testing is an important part of understanding how materials behave and how they will operate in service.  It is a key piece in the jigsaw of materials design and selection. The knowledge gained from the course will assist engineers and designers when specifying materials.

Who should attend this course?

This course is suitable for anyone working in engineering, production and design and who manufacture or supply engineering components.  It will also be a useful introduction to the subject for new starters and graduate engineers but may also be of interest to those in supporting roles.

How is the course structured?

The course has two options.  It will be run as three two-hour Virtual courses held from 2300 to 0100BST on 20, 22 & 23 June, which will allow Delegates from overseas to attend. It will also have a Classroom course run from Grantham on 12 October.

It will cover:

1.  Principles of mechanical testing

  • Why test?
  • Testpieces
  • The importance of testpiece location
  • Results - what do they mean?

2.  Tensile, hardness and toughness testing

  • Fundamentals of tensile testing
  • Methods of hardness testing and relationship with other properties
  • Impact and fracture toughness testing

3.  Special methods of testing

  • Fatigue testing
  • Examples of corrosion testing
  • Welding qualification
  • Microstructural analysis

4.  Evaluation of test results

  • Non-conformances
  • Common problems
  • Re-testing

How much does the course cost?

The cost of the course is £395 for the Classroom course and £300 for the Virtual course.  IOM3 members and subscribers to Module 2 of our Business Partner Programme are entitled to a discount of 10% on the course fee. These fees are exclusive of VAT at 20% where applicable.


 

Register for the virtual course

20, 21 & 22 June
18.00 – 20.00 EDT / 23:00 - 01.00 BST 

21, 22 & 23 June
08.00 – 10.00 AEST

 


 

 

Register for the classroom course on 12 October in Grantham