Medal for Excellence

For outstanding achievement by a group in materials, minerals or mining.

Medal for Excellence

For outstanding achievement by a team, group or organisation within the materials, minerals or mining sector.

The winner will receive a medal.

Award judging

The award is judged by the IOM3 Awards Committee.

Past winners

2021 -
2022 Mr Alan Kirk HonFIMMM, 2021 Robin Hickson CEng CSci FIMMM

2001 - 2020
2020 Prof John Coggan, 2019 Not awarded, 2018 FaME, 2017 Dr Barry Alan Wills, 2016 Steve Bedford, 2015 Oil and Gas UK, 2014 Dr Geoffrey Cowley, 2013 Not awarded, 2012 Christopher Peter Hall, 2011 Dr John Ashton, 2010 Andrew B Watson, 2009 Prof Kazem Oraee, 2008 Wardell Armstrong, 2007 Not awarded, 2006 J Groom, 2004 Prof S S Peng, 2001 Dr J D G Groom

1995 - 2000
2000 E R Hassall CBE, 1999 The Mines Rescue Service Ltd, 1998 The City of Broken Hill, 1996 P Williams OBE, 1995 M W English

Nomination process

The following information is required to submit a nomination:

  • Nominee's title, full name, email address, IOM3 member grade (if applicable) and postnominals, company and position
  • Citation (500 words max) to support your nomination
  • Additional documentation (i.e. letters of support, CV, list of publications) to further support your nomination
  • Details of an external referee (only if the nominee and nominator are from the same organisation).

Please note you may save your nomination as a draft at any point during the process and complete at a later date.