5 September 2021

Over 10% of global copper now comes from Copper Mark-awarded sites

The Copper Mark, the assurance framework to promote responsible practices and demonstrate the copper industry’s contribution to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, has awarded the Copper Mark standard to three new participating sites.

Copper in architecture

Nakhon Sawan, Thailand

© note thanun/Unsplash

The new sites are -

  • Minera Centinela (Chile, Antofagasta)
  • Glogów (Poland, KGHM Polska Miedź S.A. Oddzial Huta Miedzi)
  • Legnica (Poland, KGHM Polska Miedź S.A. Oddzial Huta Miedzi)

The 12 global Copper Mark sites produce more than 10% of all copper globally, marking significant progress towards promoting responsible production practices throughout the copper industry.

The awarding of KGHM’s Glogów and Legnica sites also mark the first sites in Poland to receive the Copper Mark, and the second and third sites across Europe – demonstrating strong progress in developing the global awareness and reach of the Copper Mark.

Michèle Brülhart, Executive Director of the Copper Mark, stated, ‘We are delighted to be able to award the Copper Mark to three new sites from our long-standing partners Antofagasta and KGHM. This brings the total number of Copper Mark-awarded sites to 12, which together produce over 10% of global copper. This is a very exciting milestone for the Copper Mark, and illustrates the growing commitment from stakeholders across the copper value chain to support and promote responsible production practices.’