Ivor Jenkins Medal

In recognition of contributions enhancing the understanding of materials processing or component production using particulate materials.

Ivor Jenkins Medal

The Ivor Jenkins Medal is presented in recognition of a significant contribution that has enhanced the scientific, industrial or technological understanding of materials processing or component production using particulate materials. 

Significant contribution in management in the particulate engineering field will also be recognised by this award.

The winner will receive a medal.

Award judging

Nominations for the Ivor Jenkins Medal are judged by the Particulate Engineering Committee of the Materials Science & Technology Division.

Past winners

2022 Prof Jose Manuel Torralba, 2021 Roger Lawcock CEng FIMMM, 2020 H Danninger, 2019 L Prakash, 2018 D Whittaker, 2017 P Nurthen, 2016 J Dunkley, 2015 Y Zhao, 2014 W B James, 2013 Dr Mark Hardy, 2012 Not awarded, 2011 J Liddle, 2010 Prof Aldo Boccaccini, 2009 P R Brewin, 2008 Prof Stuart Blackburn, 2007 Prof Jon Binner, 2006 P Beiss, 2005 Dr B Roebuck, 2004 Dr E Mosca, 2003 Prof Ivor R Harris, 2002 Prof J R G Evans, 2001 Prof B Uhrenius, 2000 Prof John  V Wood, 1998 C Molins, 1997 B Williams, 1996 Prof A Lawley, 1995 G F Bocchini, 1994 R Edwards, 1993 No award, 1992 P Lindskog, 1991 No award, 1990 W Huppmann, 1989 M Waldron


About the Ivor Jenkins Medal

The first award, announced at the 1989 meeting of the Institute of Metals' Powder Metallurgy Group, is to the late Professot Malcolm Waldron, University of Surrey. A ceremony, at which the award was presented to Mrs Waldron, was held at the Institute of Metals on Thursday 24 May 1990.