Surface Engineering Division contacts

Contacts for the Surface Engineering Division are listed below.

Dr David Rickerby



David Arthur (Division Co-ordinator)


Board members:


Saqlain Ali

Permastore Ltd

Professor Bob Akid (Chair of Corrosion Committee)

University of Manchester

Dr Bryan Allcock

Monitor Coatings Ltd

Dr Laurence Archibald

Eminate Ltd

Clive Arnold Lloyds Register

Dr Ken Brummitt


Professor Bill Clyne

University of Cambridge

Dr Gary Critchlow  (Former Chair of the Society for Adhesion and Adhesives)

Loughborough University
Gareth Davies Independent
Mark Devey

Ferro (Great Britain) Ltd

David Elliott

Surface Engineering Association

Barry Gay

Institute of Materials Finishing

Dr Mark Gee National Physical Laboratory

Professor Patrick Grant

Oxford University

Dr Brian Greenwood (Corresponding member) Department for Business, Innovation and Skills

Professor Sam Harris

Nottingham University

Keith Harrison Independent

David Harvey


Professor Ian Hutchings

University of Cambridge

Dr Ammer Jadoon






Professor Allan Matthews

The BP International Centre for Advanced Materials (BP-ICAM) at The University of Manchester.

John Morlidge

Innovate UK

Professor John Nicholls

Cranfield University

Brian Norton

Indesructible Paints

Dr Robert Quarshie


Chris Ramsden

The Chartered Society of Designers

Chris Taylor

M & CT Ltd

Dr David Whittaker

DW Associates

Professor Robert Wood

University of Southampton