Starpack Packaging Industry Innovation Award Categories 2019

View 2019 Winners' brochure

Innovation Awards - Gold, Silver and Bronze Standards

Be it in the approach to a design challenge, the way materials have been used, the processes developed to create the pack, or the engineering required to assemble, fill or handle the pack, the judges will be considering not just the attractiveness of the pack, but more importantly the challenges that have been overcome and the new and exciting developments in its creation. Categories include Consumer, Business to Business, Machinery

People Awards - Packaging Team of the Year and Packaging Star of the Year

The judges also want to hear about the people involved, not just the companies.   Successful innovation is so often the result of collaboration between skilled individuals, and is the outcome of combined skills and the way these work together to complete a project that delivers real innovation.   As an organisation that aims to further professional development, IOM3 recognises these individuals in its Starpack competition and companies are encouraged highlight these skills in their organisation alongside promoting their innovation focus at a corporate level.   All entries will be considered for the recognition of Packaging Team of the Year and Packaging Star of the Year.

Environmental and Inclusive Design Awards

All packs entered for Starpack will be considered for recognition for Environmental and Inclusive Design 

Premier Awards - Best in Show and GreenStar Award

All packs entered for Starpack will be considered for the esteemed Best in Show and GreenStar awards.




  • Food and Drink including Pet Food
  • Personal Care including Cosmetics
  • Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices
  • Non-Food
  • Home Delivery

Business to Business

  • Shelf Ready/Merchandising Packs/Point of Sale
  • Transit/Industrial/Distribution


  • Engineering Innovation
  • Production Line Innovation (Development/Internal/Interaction)

The judges will also consider all entries for the following premier awards:

  • Inclusive Design Award
  • Greenstar Sustainability Award
  • Shooting Star Award
  • Packaging Development Team/Person of the Year Award
  • Best in Show