Starpack Personal Awards Announced

24 Aug 2015

The award winners for the 2015 Starpack Awards have been announced.

The Packaging Development Team of the year Award was won by Murdoch Crawford and the SprayPET Development Team, Plastipak Packaging. This award is for a development team or an individual that has made a real difference, adding innovation and value to their customers in the last 12 months.

Tim Lynch, Chair of the Starpack Advisory Group said, “It was a difficult choice, but the unanimous agreement was to award Plastipak as the Development Team of the Year. Whilst working in very difficult conditions, through company changes, the team developed a technically unique aerosol solution with a new material making it the only plastic aerosol that will be compliant with new dispensing directives coming in, next year”.

The Shooting Star Award is awarded to a young packaging professional who is making a real difference beyond the call of duty. The prize goes to Katie Sadler, Apprentice Mechanical Engineer, Pulse Flexible Packaging Limited.

 Tim Lynch, Chair of the Starpack Advisory Group said, “We choose Katie Sadler from Pulse Packaging to be our Shooting Star in this year’s competition, for several reasons, including the fact that Katie is only an apprentice, yet has already progressed to the level of input as if a full-time engineer and that she is already training others in various systems.”

The winners will celebrate their awards at the ceremony at the National Space Centre in Leicester on 10 September.