SAA General Meeting Minutes for 2005

The Society for Adhesion & Adhesives
27 Sep 2005

                                        SOCIETY FOR ADHESION AND ADHESIVES



Having given due notice, the second general meeting of the Society for Adhesion and Adhesives was held at 17.45 hours at St Catherine's College, Oxford on Wednesday 7th September 2005.  There were no apologies for absence.

The meeting was attended by twenty-seven members and the Chairman (Dr John Comyn) opened proceedings by reading the minutes of the first general meeting held at the University of Strathclyde on 10th September 2002.  It was proposed by Prof Allen and seconded by Prof Adams that these minutes be accepted as a true and accurate record.  This proposal was carried unanimously.

The Chairman then gave a brief review of the activities of the Society since that time and these had included six one-day subject-based scientific meetings and SAE VII which was successfully held at Bristol in 2004.

In accordance with its constitution, the three longest serving members of the management board had resigned.  Also in accordance with the constitution, these three, namely Prof Adams (proposed Mr Palmer, seconded Dr Tod and Prof Kinloch), Prof Kinloch (proposed Mr Palmer, seconded Prof Adams and Dr Tod) and Mr Bowditch (proposed Dr Tod, seconded Dr Comyn and Mr Palmer) had agreed to serve for a further period.  In addition the three co-opted members agreed to stand as follows; Dr Broughton (proposed Prof Kinloch, seconded Dr Comyn and Mr Bowditch), Dr Critchlow (proposed Dr Comyn, seconded Prof Kinloch and Prof Adams) and Dr Taylor (proposed Dr Comyn, seconded Prof Kinloch and Mr Bowditch).  Prof. Crocombe of the University of Surrey had also agreed to serve having been proposed by Prof Adams and seconded by Messrs. Bowditch and Palmer.  The returning officer, Dr Chivers, explained that these nominees, having been appropriately proposed and seconded, could all be accepted as members of the Board with the overall numbers meeting the normal requirements of the constitution.  The proposals were approved by the members present and all were declared to be duly elected.

In the absence of any other business, the Chairman notified those present that the next General Meeting would be held in 2008 at Adhesion ‘08/Euradh and closed the meeting at 17.50h.

[Secretary's Note: The balance of the board, in addition to those newly elected, is as follows:

Dr J Comyn, Mr J A Bishopp, Prof K W Allen, Dr R A Chivers,

Dr EJ C Kellar, Mr J D Palmer, Prof S J Shaw and Dr D A Tod]




John Comyn



26th October 2005


SAA Board - nomination slip


The election of the new Board will take place at the General Meeting to be held at Adhesion '08 on Wednesday 3rd September 2008 at 18.10h.  All proposers and seconders must be current members of the Society for Adhesion and Adhesives.  The willingness of the nominee to serve must be indicated by the nominee's signature as indicated.




Seconder (1)

Seconder (2)

Acceptance signature

Retiring members:





DA Tod (05/88)


JA  Bishopp (05/89)


JD Palmer (03/93)

AJ Kinloch


WR Broughton


SJ Shaw?

AD Crocombe


AJ Kinloch


J Comyn

J Comyn


J Comyn


AJ Kinloch


Co-opted members:













New members:




















End of document



26th April 2008