Dow Corning scientist awarded the 2001 de Bruyne medal

The Society for Adhesion & Adhesives
1 Oct 2001

Dr. Michael J Owen of Dow Corning in Michigan in the United States of America is the 2001 recipient of the de Bruyne medal.

Dr. Owen is only the third recipient of this prestigious award. Dr. Stephanie Wellman of Permabond was the first in 1996 and Dr. Iain Webster of Smith and Nephew, the second in 1999.

The de Bruyne medal, sponsored by Vantico Limited [formerly Ciba], is named after the founder of Aero Research Limited [later Ciba] Norman de Bruyne FREng, FRS [1904 – 1997]. De Bruyne was a multi-disciplined scientist who had the ability and foresight to translate theoretical science into very practical, commercial applications. Two apposite examples are the development of structural bonding using synthetic heat-curing adhesives and the concept of metal honeycomb; both still widely used in the aerospace industry since their inception in the 1940s and ‘50s.

The medal is presented to an individual who displays these characteristics. It is an acknowledgment of the recipient’s personal contribution to innovation in the field of adhesives.

Dr. Owen has, during his 35-year career with Dow Corning, made significant advances in several fields within the adhesion and adhesive disciplines. These include the invention of adhesion promoters for use with polyisobutylene and polydimethylsiloxane, the theories of abhesion for release films in pressure-sensitive adhesives, surface pretreatment and characterisation for adhesive bonding and an understanding of the theories of adhesion associated with low-energy surfaces.

The Medal Committee – comprising members of the Society for Adhesion and Adhesives, TWI and Vantico will present the award to Dr. Owen at the next major European conference on Adhesion and Adhesives [Euradh 2000 in Glasgow on 10th to 13th September 2002]. Dr. Owen will also deliver a paper covering aspects of his work.