Nominations invited for IOM3 2019 Awards including Prince Philip and the Colwyn Medal

The Polymer Society
16 Dec 2018

The IOM3 Polymer Society invites Nominations for the 2019 Awards including Prince Philip and the Colwyn Medal

Closing date is Thursday 31 January 2019

Prince Philip Award

For polymers in the service of mankind. Awarded not more than once every two years, not less than once every five years. Instituted to commemorate the presentation of the first Honorary Fellowship of the PRI to HRH the Duke of Edinburgh on 22 May 1973. International, open to members and non-members, companies, partnerships, associations, societies or academic institutions and only in special circumstances to an exceptional individual. Names and addresses of two independent referees required.

Previous winners have been Avon Rubber, Biocompatibles UK Ltd and Victrex Research & Technology.

Colwyn Medal

To an individual for outstanding services to the rubber industry of a scientific, technical or engineering character.

First awarded 1928, the Colwyn Medal dates back to 1927 when the Rt. Hon. Lord Colwyn PC, making a speech at The Institution of the Rubber Industry (IRI) Annual Dinner during his period of Presidency, pointed out that the IRI had 1700 members and a Diploma for promoting efficiency among technicians and scientific workers which would become the recognised qualification for employment in the industry. He himself wished to have the honour of giving a medal to be competed for and which would be "a source of honour, dignity and joy to the man who possesses".

Recent previous winners have been Professor Manfred Kluppel, Dr Gert Heinrich, Professor Mark Warner and Dr Richard Spontak

James S Walker Award

For a student project, already examined, on the subject of polymers.

Awards in the Materials Discipline (not restricted to any one specific class of material)

Other prestigious and relevant materials awards can also be noted here

Further information and Nomination Details