Nominations sought for Prince Philip Award and Colwyn Medal

The Polymer Society
13 Sep 2012

The Prince Philip Award is given for polymers in the service of mankind.

Nominations are open to members and non-member individuals, companies, partnerships, associations, societies or academic institutions from any part of the world. Names and addresses of two independent referees are also required to support the nomination. Past winners have ranged from Biocompatibles UK Ltd to Maunsell Structural Plastics Ltd.

First awarded in 1977 the award was instituted to commemorate the presentation of the first Honorary Fellowship of the PRI (Plastics and Rubber Institute) to HRH the Duke of Edinburgh on 22 May 1973.

The Colwyn Medal is awarded to an individual for outstanding services to the rubber industry of a scientific, technical or engineering character and is open to members and non members. It is also expected that the winner shall prepare and deliver the Rubber Foundation Lecture.

Recent winners have been Richard Spontak, Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering at North Carolina State University and Dr James Busfield, Head of Rubber Research Group at Queen Mary, University of London.
The Colwyn Medal was first awarded in 1928.

The closing date for receipt of nominations to IOM3 is 9 November 2012.

See full details of nomination process (this year all nominations must be made online)