Education and Technician Awards and New Fellows Dinner 2019

1 Nov 2019

Winners of this year’s Education and Technician Awards and New Fellows from September 2018/2019 joined together on Thursday 31 October 2018 to celebrate their awards and achievement/Fellowship.

The Institute’s Technician of the Year awards are open to all those currently studying materials or minerals technology, or related subjects and those who have completed such courses within the last two years.

More than 70 people came to dinner at 297 Euston Road presented by IOM3 Past President Mr Martin Cox CEng FIMMM. This year’s Education Awards include the Royal Charter Prize given to Tomasz Zalewski TIMMM from Sheffield Hallam University, UK.

Others include the RH Craven Award given to Samuel Grisa, Loughborough University and the AT Green Award to Maxim Vreeswijk from Imperial College London.

Steve Challinor from Ibstock Brick was awarded Technician of the Year (Category A). Gabby Horan from Sheffield Hallam University and Laura Jackman

BAM Ritchies were also presented on the night with the Technician of the Year (Category B) awards.

Among the guests were Catherine Kane CEng FIMMM and her father Professor Mike Hinton FIMMM who both became Fellows of IOM3 in 2019.

The Institute would like to thank those who came along and help select this year’s winners, and congratulate all this year’s winners.  

Find out more about the 2020 Awards.