IOM3 Special and Publications Awards Dinner 2018

17 Oct 2018

Congratulations to all the winners of the IOM3 Special and Publicationa Awards, who were presented with their medals and certificates at 297 Euston Road, London on 16 October 2018.

The Special and Publications Awards celebrate personal achievement, published work and contributions to materials production, processing, properties and applications.  This year was particularly special as IOM3 CEO Bernie Rickinson said, ‘The standard of the entries this year was exceptional, with the most entries we have ever had’. Winners from all across the world gathered to collect their awards at the annual celebration dinner.

Among the winners was Alan Murhr of the TARRC winning the Hancock medal, David Whittaker for the Ivor Jenkins Medal and Professor Judith Driscoll for the Kroll Medal and Prize.

Other winners included Matt Buckley, Deborah Ward and Rick Short for the Materials World medal and Professor Kees Bastiaansen who was awarded the Swinburne Medal.

Congratulations are due to all this year’s winners. The Institute’s Awards 2019 awards are now open for nominations. Please consider nominating a colleague who deserves recognition. To nominate or to read more about the 2019 awards, visit

The closing date for nominations for the IOM3 Awards for 2019 is Thursday 31 January 2019.

For the full list of 2018 winners, visit