Special and Publication Awards Dinner 2017

18 Oct 2017

Congratulations to all the winners of the Special and Publication Award winners, who were presented with their medals and certificates at 297 Euston Road, London, on 17 October 2017.

The Special and Publication Awards Dinner celebrates the breadth of materials production, processing, structure, properties and applications - and their inter-relationships. Recipients from all over the world, from the United States of America to Canada, South Africa and even Australia, turned out for the annual awards ceremony.

Among the winners was, Nan Li of Imperial College recipient of the Rowbotham Medal. This is an annual award to recognise an outstanding contribution by a young person to the development or innovative use of materials for automotive applications.

Collecting the Composite Award was Dr Alan Leong from Petronas. This was followed by the presentation of the prestigious Thorton Medal to Rachel Waugh, and the awarding of the Ivor Jenkins Medal to Paul Nurthen.

Guests also celebrated with Professor Mark Miodownik, who was appointed an Honorary Fellowship to the Institute.

The 2018 awards are now open for nomination. 

Nominate or find out more about the 2018 awards
The closing date for nominations is 31 January 2018.


Further information

See the full list of 2017 award winners