Starpack Packaging Industry Innovation Awards relaunched

2 Mar 2017

The Starpack Industry Awards are set for a huge overhaul for the 2017/18 competition.

Renamed The Starpack Packaging Industry Innovation Awards, the competition will recognise excellence in packaging innovation, design and development – with a new focus on a personal level of recognition for those working in industry, as well as corporate awards. 

Chris Waterhouse, Chair of the Packaging Society said, ‘Successful innovation is so often the result of collaboration between skilled individuals. It is the result of the combined skills and the way these worked together to complete a project that delivers real innovation’. 

Following consultation with the judging panel and previous entrants, a familiar set of categories will remain. In addition, there will be the opportunity to recognise the fantastic work being done in process development and in engineering.

In previous years, the Greenstar Award and the Inclusive Design Award required separate entries. In the 2017/18 competition, all the packs entered will be judged in each category at no extra entry fee.

Innovation is more important than ever for the 2017/18 entries. Be it in the approach to a design challenge, the way materials have been used, the processes developed to create the pack or the engineering required to assemble/fill/handle the pack. 

The refined online entry form will ask for insight into the project brief, clear indication of what is new in the way the pack or process has come about and the recognition of the team that worked on the project. Judges will consider the attractiveness of the pack and also the challenges that have been overcome in its creation.

IOM3 and The Packaging Society believe that by making this adjustment to the Starpack Packaging Industry Innovation Awards this year, the winners will not just be the people producing the best looking packs, but those that are delivering the best innovation in the packaging industry.

Deadline for entries is 31 October 2017.

Further information

The Starpack Packaging Industry Innovation Awards