Prestigious IOM3 awards celebrated in London

12 Jul 2017

The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) presented its 2017 Premier Awards to winners at a black tie event in London on 11 July.

The prestigious awards, medals and prizes that were given out on the evening acknowledged individuals and local society groups for their achievements, published work and contributions to the profession.

IOM3 Awards winners at the black tie event at 297 Euston Road, London

Following a champagne reception and entertainment by a Royal College of Music Jazz Trio, President of IOM3 Martin Cox CEng FIMMM presented the esteemed awards.  

In his address, Martin said, ‘It takes significant application to get to the IOM3 Awards, and we are very pleased to provide the recognition to individuals for their achievements this evening.'

Among the guests were Professor John Speer, winner of the Bessemer Gold Medal, and Derek Barratt FIMMM ARSM, who was presented the Futers Gold Medal. Francisca da Silva Wheeler MBE CPhys FInstP, winner of the Sir Colin Humphreys Education Award, also attended the ceremony. She said, ‘The Institute publicly supports the hard work teachers do to inspire young people to become the scientists of the future, and I am very honoured to receive an award tonight.’

This year, BP Exploration & Production Co Ltd and Companhia Brasileira de Metalurgia e Mineração (CBMM) were jointly awarded the Gold Medal for significant contribution to the industrial application of materials.

Following the ceremony, CBMM’s director of technology, Marcos Stuart, shared that, 'Winning the gold medal reinforces the belief that CBMM are doing things correctly, and I am delighted to get to bring the medal back to Brazil.'

Local societies were also recognised on the night. The North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers (NEIMME) was awarded the Large Local Society of the Year and Newport and District Materials Society (NDMS) collected the Small Local Society of the Year Award.

Sir Colin Humphreys Ed Award
Francisca da Silva Wheeler MBE CPhys FInstP is awarded the Sir Colin Humphreys Education Award

Dr Bernie Rickinson, IOM3 Chief Executive, welcomes guests to the 2017 Premier Awards Dinner

Local Society Of The Year (Large)
North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers (NEIMME) awarded Local Society of the Year

See what some of our award winners had to say on the night of the Awards Dinner

Further Information 

Full list of 2017 winners