Technician Awards and Student Prizes 2016

3 Nov 2016

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Technician Awards and Student Prizes. Nominations for these awards are made by university materials departments.

The Royal Charter Prize was founded by the Metals Society to mark the grant of the Royal Charter to the Institution of Metallurgists in 1975. It is awarded to the best materials student regardless of discipline. This year it is awarded to Matthew Way University of Sheffield (pictured with Martin Cox CEng FIMMM, IOM3 Senior Vice President).

The AT Green Award was founded by the Institute of Ceramics to recognise Dr A T Green, a prime mover in the establishment of the Institute of Ceramics on 6 May 1955 and its first President. The 2016 winner is Kay Jervis of University of Manchester.

The RH Craven Award was founded by the London Section of the Plastics and Rubber Institute to commemorate R H Craven, the Assistant Secretary of the PRI, in honour of his contribution to the plastics and rubber industries. This year the judging panel were split and have decided to award this to two candidates, Arturo Mendoza Meinhardt, Queen Mary, and Katherine Danks, University of Oxford.

Each year, the Institute makes two awards for the Technician of the Year. Category A is for individuals studying or have qualified within two years of nomination, a course that leads to the awards of a qualification at either Level 2 or Level 3 on the National Qualification Framework or equivalent. The 2016 winner is Emma Prusek from Beauchamp College.

Category B is for candidates who are studying, or have qualified within two years of nomination, a course that leads to the award of a qualification at either Level 4 or Level 5 on the National Qualification Framewoirk. The 2016 winner is Richard James from Sutton Coldfield College.

Further information

Technician of the Year Awards

Student Prizes