Technician Awards and Student Prizes 2015

12 Nov 2015

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Technician Awards and Student Prizes. Nominations for these awards are made by university materials departments.

The Royal Charter Prize was founded by the Metals Society to mark the grant of the Royal Charter to the Institution of Metallurgists in 1975. It is awarded to the best materials student regardless of discipline. This year it is awarded to Sioned Llewelyn from University of Birmingham.

The AT Green Award was founded by the Institute of Ceramics to recognise Dr A T Green, a prime mover in the establishment of the Institute of Ceramics on 6 May 1955 and its first President. The 2015 winner is Sinclair Ryley Ratnasingham from Queen Mary University London.

The RH Craven Award was founded by the London Section of the Plastics and Rubber Institute to commemorate R H Craven, the Assistant Secretary of the PRI, in honour of his contribution to the plastics and rubber industries. The winner in 2015 is Alexandra Orrin who studied at Imperial College London and is now a trainee patent attorney at intellectual property firm, Withers & Rogers. 

Each year, the Institute makes two awards for the Technician of the Year. Category A is for individuals studying or have qualified within two years of nomination, a course that leads to the awards of a qualification at either Level 2 or Level 3 on the National Qualification Framework or equivalent. The 2015 winner is Matthew Graham from Tata Steel/North Lindsey College (pictured with Martin Cox, Senior Vice President of IOM3). Category B highly commended awards went to Bradley McDonald from Sheffield Forgemasters, Imogen Harding from Wienerberger, Thomas Maddock of Compass Minerals and Joshua Gerrard also from Compass Minerals.

Category B is for candidates who are studying, or have qualified within two years of nomination, a course that leads to the award of a qualification at either Level 4 or Level 5 on the National Qualification Framewoirk. The 2015 winner is Jack Folkes from Messier-Bugatti-Dowty/Sheffield Hallam University. Category B highlgy commended awards went to, Thomas Sharman from Rolls-Royce/Sheffield Hallam University, Lew Webb of Kiverton Park Steel/Sheffield Hallam University, Jade Roe from Fife College and Andrew Hughes from Dooson Babcock/Bradford College.

Further information

Technician of the Year Awards

Student Prizes