Scholarship and Bursary Awards 2015

30 Mar 2015

The Institute is inviting applications for its 2015 Scholarship and Bursary Awards, which will be judged in respect of academic excellence. Submissions must specify academic ability - candidates seeking assistance for financial hardship will unfortunately not be considered.

The awards available are:

Bosworth Smith Trust Fund – For postgraduate research into metal mining, nonferrous extraction metallurgy or mineral dressing.

Centenary Scholarship – For first or second year undergraduates who are student members of IOM3, to help career development in minerals and mining.

Edgar Pam Fellowship – For postgraduate study of minerals and mining by those living in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, South Africa and the UK who wish to undertake further study in the UK.

G Vernon Hobson Bequest – To help the teaching and practice of geology applied to mining.

Mining Club Award – For travel purposes for British people aged 21–35 engaged in the minerals industry.

Stanley Elmore Fellowship Fund – To support UK university-based research into extractive metallurgy and mineral processing.

The Tom Seaman Travelling Scholarship – For a member, 35 years or younger, who is training or has completed training for a mining or related technology career.

Submissions must be returned by 10 April 2015 to the Office of the Deputy Chief Executive, Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, The Boilerhouse, Springfield Business Park, Caunt Road, Grantham, Lincolnshire. NG31 7FZ. Tel: 01476 513886.

An application form can be downloaded below. 

Further information

Scholarships and bursaries