Student and Technician Awards 2014

12 Nov 2014

Congratulations to winners of the 2014 Student and Technician Awards. Winners were announced on 11 November in London.

Nominations for these awards are made by university materials departments.

The Royal Charter Award was founded by the Metals Society to mark the grant of the Royal Charter to the Institution of Metallurgists in 1975. It is awarded to the best materials student regardless of discipline. This year it is awarded to Daryl Yee of Imperial College London who is now continuing his education at CalTech, California USA.

The AT Green Award was founded by the Institute of Ceramics to recognise Dr A T Green, a prime mover in the establishment of the Institute of Ceramics on 6 May 1955 and its first President. The 2014 winner is Faye McCarthy, from University of Manchester.

The RH Craven Award was founded by the London Section of the Plastics and Rubber Institute to commemorate R H Craven, the Assistant Secretary of the PRI, in honour of his contribution to the plastics and rubber industries. In 2014, Samantha Gabriel is the 2014 winner and considered the best graduate with excellence in polymer materials. Samantha is from Queen Mary University London.

Each year, the Institute makes two awards for the Technician of the Year. The awards are open to all those currently studying materials or minerals technology or related subjects and those who have completed such courses within the last two years. 2014 winners are Joshua Foster from Compass Minerals and Jonathan Forster from AMEC