Technician and Student Awards 2013

29 Oct 2013
L-R Steven Clark, IOM3 Past-President Jan Lewis, Richard Nainby

Each year, the Institute makes two awards for the Technician of the Year and presents three Student Awards. The Technician of the Year Awards are open to all those currently studying materials, minerals technology or related subjects and those who have completed such courses within the last two years. There is no age restriction.

Steven Clark (pictured left) was awarded Technician of the Year. He studied a B-TEC in Material Engineering at Rotheram College of Arts and Technology. He currently works as a Technical Metallugy Apprentice at Tata Steel Speciality Steels. He is a member of Tata Steel's Magnet Group and of British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing. He hopes to achieve Non-Destructive Testing status, which will allow him to train others and further his own career.

The other Technician of the Year Award went to Richard Nainby (pictured right) who recently completed Level 3 Technical Certificate in Clay Building Products. He is currently Technical Assistant at Ibstock Brick Ltd and hopes to continue his professional development and progress to Technical Manager level.

The 2013 Student Award winners have also been announced:

The Royal Charter Prize was awarded to Luke Hanna, who studied for his MEng at University of Oxford. He has accepted a graduate contract with EDF Energy, where he will assist in the safe operation of EDF’s Nuclear Reactor Fleet.

The A T Green Award
was presented to Jevgenijs Kitajevs who studied an MEng at University of Manchester. He has been awarded a studentship to undertake a PhD at the University of Manchester. In the long-term, he hopes to become a researcher and lecturer, something he has already signed up to training courses for.

The R H Craven Award
was given to Anna Ploszajski, who studied Materials Science at University of Oxford. Following nine months of experimental work at Cella Energy, they agreed to sponsor her time at the Industrial Doctorate Centre in Molecular Modelling and Materials Science at University College London, which began in September 2013.