Starpack Industry Awards winners announced

26 Jun 2012

The winners of this
year’s Starpack Awards have been announced. The competition’s 53rd
year enjoyed more than 300 entries from old favourites such as DS Smith
Packaging and Crown Speciality Packaging and welcomed new entries from leading companies including Boxmart Ltd.

The judges met at The
Boilerhouse in Grantham to decide the winners in the various categor
ies. An entry that
triumphed in the food category was Havi Gloabal Solution’s entry for the
official Olympic sponsors, McDonald’s. The McDonald’s Share Box caught the
judges’ eyes for the innovative design and being easy to assemble and recycle.

Alison Vincent, Managing Director at AVA Packaging said ‘I am impressed
with the number of entries, there’s some fantastic luxury products.’ A winner
in this category was MW Creative Ltd with the Bombay Sapphire Garrard 250th
Anniversary presentation box and bottle, with judges saying ‘it was a pleasure
to open, and extremely impressive as a gift pack.’

Jago, Director of Innovation and Insight at Mintel, highlighted simplicity as a
key element in the design process. He said, ‘the designs that work best and
have the greatest chance of succeeding are the ones that are very simple in
their nature, and that are intuitive, not over engineered'.

The industry branch of
the Starpack Awards has 13 categories covering numerous sectors in packaging.
Superstar Award and the Mintel Innovation Award
are two additional awards to recognise exceptional entries. They are being kept under-wraps and will be announced at the Starpack Awards ceremony in July.




Further information

2012 Starpack Industry Awards categories pages listing all winners