Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering invites nominations

29 Feb 2012

are now open for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering which calls upon the
international engineering community to nominate peers for the prestigious award.

The engineers responsible for the world's greatest modern engineering
advancement, which has had a demonstrable benefit for humanity, will be awarded
£1 million.

Since the
launch in November 2011 organisers have been establishing a prominent, international
panel of judges who are leaders in engineering across all disciplines.

Lord Alec
Broers, Chair of the Judging Panel, said "We have been fortunate in being
able to draw together from around the world an amazingly distinguished group of
panelists to judge this uniquely important prize, all of them household names
in the world of engineering and science, and many of them leaders of
internationally pre-eminent institutions and Academies".

The awards
aim to bring worldwide attention to engineers and their work, on an
international platform. Nominations are open until 14 September 2012, with the
winner being announced in spring 2013.