2012 in Review

18 Dec 2012

2012 has been an extraordinary year, with the Queen’s Jubilee and the Olympic and Paralympic games. The Institute has had an eventful year too. We've taken a look back on 2012 and here are our highlights.

Back in March, the Institute was graced with the presence of royalty as HRH Prince Philip came to the Institute to present the award named after him. Biocompatibles UK Ltd were the worthy winner of the 2011 award for polymers in the service of mankind. 

In April, the final of the Young Persons’ Lecture competition was won by Abbas Delavar for his enthused talk, Liquid Loading and Gas Deliquification.

In July we announced the Signature Materials project to tackle metal theft which attracted interest from far and wide and gained coverage on BBC Radio and in the Financial Times. This project is continuously developing so look out for more news in 2013.

July also saw the Institute pay host to International Week. Younger members from across the globe came to London for an array of activities, notably the Young Persons’ World Lecture Competition, won by Brian Weden from California. Next year’s competition will be held in Hong Kong. During the same week, winners of the Institute’s Premier Awards also gathered at 1 Carlton House Terrace for the prestigious awards ceremony. 

September saw the Institute announce the new standard for packaging professionals, which was officially announced at the PPMA show towards the end of September.

Also in September, Starpack welcomed new sponsors Marks and Spencer and have since added Nampak to the list of valued sponsors. 

In October the Special, Publication and Technician of the Year Awards were held in London, alongside the Finniston Lecture – the Institute welcomed Sir Colin Humphreys, who gave an inspiring talk on materials research.

In November, the Institute’s London base hosted the much-discussed EGM, which saw IOM3 members vote in favour of the Governance change 

For the cherry on top of our 2012 cake, in December Eoin Redahan, Senior Writer for the Institute’s magazines, won Writer of the Year at the PPA Independent Publisher Awards 

What a year!