2012 Institute Medals and Prizes announced

25 Apr 2012

The Institute has
announced the winners of its
2012 medals and prizes. The premier award winners
are listed below.

Gold Medal
­– Dr Graham A Honeyman, Chief Executive, Sheffield
Forgemasters International Ltd
. Throughout his career, Graham has promoted the
development and application of metallurgical processes to enable the
manufacture of engineering components of national and international importance.
Graham’s understanding of metallurgical aspects of the business has led
Sheffield Forgemasters Engineering to profitability, with an export market of
75%. He was awarded a CBE in 2008 for his exceptional contribution to
engineering, and 2010 saw him named Overall Director of the Year at the
Institute of Directors.

Andrew Bryan Award
Stephen R Pye C Env CSci FIMMM MISMM.
Stephen has tirelessly applied himself to the maintenance and development of
the Packaging Society in the north west for 20 years. He has broadened the
scope of events to include seminars and lectures on topics of interest not only
in packaging but also in business. Stephen has initiated links with Liverpool
Hope University, which is now the home of the Merseyside Packaging Society. His
commitment and leadership have sustained the Society presence in his


Professor Neil Rushton MBBS MA LRCP FRCS FIMMM. Neil is
Director of the Orthopedic Research Unit at The University of Cambridge and has
demonstrated the clinical relevance of his work by turning research into
products. He played a crucial part in the development of a composite material
that was central to a product marketed by Stryker. He also headed pre-clinical
evaluation projects on a successful cartilage repair material, which was the
foundation at the University of Cambridge company Orthomimetics. He has
consistently supported his own research by demonstrating the tangible benefits
and marketability of his clinical products.

Gold Medal
Nick Hazen, President of Hazen Research Inc. The
company was founded in 1961 and has since grown into the largest private
metallurgical and processing R&D facility in the USA. Nick has been
involved in the development of multi-unit operation methods for efficient,
economic and environmentally sound extraction of contained metals from ores,
concentrates and wastes. Nick and his team have worked with the world’s major
mining companies and have extensive knowledge of the industry, proven in Nick’s
list of publications and the 30 patents to his name.

Medal and Prize
Professor Molly Stevens. The medal was awarded for Molly’s
contribution to the field of biomaterials. Her research focused on developing
novel biomaterials for human health. Her nano-materials for biosensing have
enabled the most sensitive and simplistic enzyme detection to date, and she is
actively pursuing these having received the Royal Society’s Brian Mercer Award
to facilitate commercialisation. Molly’s previous awards are testament to her
multidisciplinary research. These include the Polymer International IUPAC award
for creativity in polymer science and The
Guardian’s top 100
inspirational women. Molly has consistently made significant contributions to
science and holds many events for young people in her lab, including the London
International Youth Science Forum.

Colin Humphreys Education AwardsAlice Laferrere and
James Smith, PhD students in the School of Materials at the University of
The pair have volunteered their support at numerous events
to teach secondary students about materials and have created a number of their
own activities for this purpose. These events include the Airbus Family Fun
Day, and Meet the Scientists at MoSI. Alice and James have made all of the
activities available to colleagues and have also participated in workshops
where they have shared their experiences with peers interested in materials

for Excellence
­– Christopher Peter Hall MA (Oxon)
, Commercial and Public Affairs Director, British Ceramic
Confederation (BCC).
Christopher has played a central role in BBC’s core
activities for 27 years. Among his achievements is successfully getting Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions (DETR)
to undertake research into planning issues for brickclay, which has ultimately
provided security of the supplies needed to support the future capital
investment by all BCC member companies. Christopher has major achievements
within the art, science and practice of minerals and mining. A particular
highlight is his work in securing and sustainable working of brickclays.


Professor John Kilner FIMMM FInstP FCGI CPhys CEng. John
heads a world leading team at Imperial College London, working on functional
materials for advanced electrochemical and energy applications. He has
published more than 350 scientific papers and holds seven patents in solid
oxide fuel cells (SOFC). His company, AIM, was founded in 2000 and now has more
than 100 employees and is recognised as a world leader in SOFC. John was instrumental
in launching the Institute’s Energy Materials Group, which he chaired until
2010, and is now involved in meetings to highlight the sustainability of
materials in this field. He holds several international teaching posts and has
been awarded two teaching awards of excellence from the Imperial College, as
well as a teaching fellowship.


Dr Michelle Moram BSc PhD. The medal was awarded for Michelle’s
work on defects in the III-nitride semiconductor materials, which are used in
energy-efficient lighting and electronic devices. Michelle graduated as
Chemistry Graduate of the Year from University College of Cork, where she also
won the College Scholar award twice and the ICI Chemistry Prize. She then went
on to gain a PhD in materials science at Cambridge University. Michelle’s work
is internationally significant and has drawn world-wide attention, addressing
some of the most current scientific problems in the field of III-nitride
materials, which are essential to energy-efficient lighting and high power
electronic devices. Her work has led to 53 published papers and its relevance is
evident in the 22 speeches and seminars she has given across the globe.

View full list of 2012 award winners