IOM3 Award and Prize winners 2008 announced

14 Apr 2008

The recipients of the Institute’s Award and Prizes for 2008 have been decided.

The premier winners are:

  • Dr Tridibesh Mukherjee, Tata Steel, receives the Bessemer Gold Medal for his service to the steel industry. He joined Tata in 1971 and rose to Deputy Managing Director (steel). He is now a Board member responsible for R&D and technology, and leads worldwide research into yield improvement.

  • The Sir Andrew Bryan award goes to Roger Watmore MIMMM of the Midlands Plastics & Rubber Group. He has given over 20 years’ service to the local society, including as Committee Secretary and Chair, the latter while the society merged with IOM3. Watmore chaired the Regional Affairs Committee, and became Chair of the Local Affairs Board in 2004.

  • Emeritus Professor of Cell Biology, Adam Curtis CSci, University of Glasgow, takes the Chapman Medal for his research on cell culture and nanobioscience. As an Honorary Senior Research Fellow at the University’s Centre for Cell Engineering he is pioneering work into mechanotransduction and biomaterials.

  • The Colin Humphreys’ Education Award is bestowed upon Susan Wilkinson, Walthamstow Hall, for her enthusiasm and commitment to students’ science education, both in and out of the classroom. She runs two science clubs and regularly organises trips and talks for pupils. Christopher Williams, Eckington School, was commended for running solar buggy workshops and organising a primary science festival for 500 pupils.

  • The Futers Gold Medal goes to Gordon Riddler CEng FIMMM. He has been the Institute representative in the creation of an international reserves and reporting code.

  • Dedication to advancing superplasticity and superplastic forming as a new process secures Anthony J Barnes, Superform USA, the Gold Medal. Barnes’ work has helped reduce the weight and cost of airframes.

  • Professors Neil Alford FREng FIMMM of Imperial College London and Anthony Roy West, University of Sheffield, are joint winners of the Griffith Medal and Prize. Alford is noted for the commercial exploitation of research into structural and electronic materials. He is currently investigating third and fourth generation communications systems tuneable filters in collaboration with industrial partners. West has progressed energy storage and electroceramic devices by exploring the synthesis and characterisation of inorganic materials. He has helped to establish research groups such as the Immobilisation Science Laboratory.

  • Wardell Armstrong’s service to the mining industry is recognised with receipt of the Medal for Excellence. The international consultancy has worked with UK Government departments as well as the World Bank, and developed a mining policy for artisanal miners alongside the Ethiopian Government.

  • The Platinum Medal has been awarded to Professor Graham Davies, University of Birmingham, for his promotion of materials science, especially nanotechnology. He led the Foresight Materials Panel to unite the UK materials community and provide a coherent voice to Government. The panel recommended the formation of the Innovation and Growth Team for materials, which Davies joined as part of the Science and Technology panel. He is now Chair of the Materials UK Science & Technology Committee.

  • Sandrine Heutz of Imperial College London receives the Silver Medal for research on thin film structures. To improve organic photovoltaic devices she introduced new electron donor and acceptor mixed layers. This led to a doubling in cell efficiency. Other areas of research include heterostructure thin films and developing magnetic films with controllable interactions.

  • The Thornton Medal goes to Dr Alan Smith FIMMM, Nanotechnology Industries Association, for his presentations at several Institute conferences, including ‘Materials for a Safer Europe’ and ‘Materials for a Better Life’. These events formed part of the Institute’s role in the European Commission’s Framework 6 roadmapping exercise.

These premier award winners will be presented with their medals and prizes on 2 July at Carlton House Terrace, London.


Full list of award winners.

Documents for download: 
Image icon 1 Micron Cement 3.jpg34.48 KB