Winner of the Design Innovation in Plastics Award

26 Jul 2007
Award winner Sara Bellini

A personal bag hook has won the Design Innovation in Plastics Award, a competition co-organised by IOM3 and the Worshipful Company of Horners. The winner’s ceremony was held on 29 June at IOM3’s London headquarters.

Students were challenged to design a product or system related to security using polymers and high performance plastics as the predominant materials. Sara Bellini of Central Saint Martins College of Art & Design in London, UK, took first place for her Keepsafe Personal Bag Accessory. The bag hook promotes theft awareness by providing a suction cap, activated by pulling the tail of the device, to secure bags to tables and chairs in public places. Richard Brown, Chair of the judging panel said, ‘[Bellini] had interpreted the judges’ guidance, covering all aspects of the competition brief.’ She received £1,000 and a placement with Bayer AG of Germany, as well as £500 for her College.

Other entrants

Taking second place was Daniel Biddle from the University of Huddersfield, UK. His Roof Angel offers a flashing replacement for the standard warning triangle. He won £500 and the opportunity to work with PDD, Europe’s leading product innovation consultancy.

The Arm Cast secured Carl Needham of Northumbria University, UK, third place and £250. The product is breathable, waterproof and less cumbersome than traditional plaster casts. Needham also received a placement with DuPont Engineering Polymers, Geneva, a global leader in engineering polymers.

All from students at Northumbria University, the highly commended entries were:
The Samurai Cricket Helmet by Scott Hudson. This visor is full-faced, vented and impact-resistant.
B-Alert DVT Prevention Aid by Andrew Rudd. The flexible strap vibrates to alert wearers when they are too inactive, to decrease the risk of deep vein thrombosis.
Car Park Security Unit by Jez Jewkes. This flat-pack security unit can be used in car packs, on building sites and at music festivals.

Visit the Awards home page.

Further information