Rewarding excellence through the IOM3 Awards and Prizes

8 Apr 2007

The recipients of the 2007 Medals and Prizes have been agreed and the winners notified. The Institute has allocated the premier awards as follows –

Lakshmi Mittal, President of Arcelor-Mittal Steel, receives the Bessemer Gold Medal for his business acumen in developing the international steel industry while growing his own family business.

John Weston is awarded the Sir Andrew Bryan for his long-standing commitment to the Institute. In its former guise as the North Staffs Institute of Mining Electrical and Mining Mechanical Engineers, he acted as Treasurer, Secretary and President. He has also been involved in junior regional societies and has sat on council.

The recipient of the Chapman Medal is Professor David William, Liverpool University, for his work on biocompatibility and contribution to industry while acting as Director of the UK Centre for Tissue Engineering.

Dr Keith Fuller wins the Colwyn Medal for services to the rubber industry in recognition of his research on rubber bearings for earthquake protection.

Arthur Jeffrey Smith of Wardell Armstrong receives the Futers Gold Medal for helping to alleviate poverty in developing countries through subsistence mining.

Dr Adrian Normanton, Manager of Steelmaking and Casting at Corus Research and Development Group takes the Gold Medal for his strong team leadership skills which have resulted in research being applied to industrial applications at Corus.

Professor Robert O Ritchie of the University of California is awarded the Griffith Medal and Prize for his contribution to the understanding of fatigue and fracture in engineering and medical materials.

Dr S R Keown secures the Platinum Medal in recognition of his involvement in establishing the National Metals Technology Centre in the UK.

Dr Matthew Hall, University of Nottingham, receives the Silver Medal as a younger member for promoting sustainable construction materials.

These winners will be presented with their medals and prizes at a dinner in July. For further information about the above awards, as well as details of the personal achievement and publications award winners, visit:

For information about the awards and nomination process, contact Rachel Brooks, tel: 01476 514594.

Documents for download: 
Image icon optical sensors book.jpg18.91 KB