Awards in materials science & technology

The Institute makes a number of awards of particular relevance to the work of the Division.

The Rosenhain Medal and Prize are awarded in recognition of distinguished achievement in any branch of materials science, preference being given to candidates under the age of 40.

Other awards include:

The Dowding Medal and Prize is awarded In recognition of professional contribution to the invention, development, design or technical operation of metallurgical plant, particularly rolling and finishing.

The Ivor Jenkins Medal is awarded in recognition of a significant contribution that has enhanced the scientific, industrial or technological understanding of materials processing or component production using particulate materials. 

The Hume-Rothery Prize for distinguished achievements in relation to phase transformations

The Kroll Medal and Prize for materials chemistry as applied to the industrial production of inorganic materials

The Cook / Ablett Award for work of particular merit in the field of metals published in one of the Institute’s Journals