LBMES committee

Dr. Chris Hammond CEng MIMMM
Formerly a senior lecturer in Materials at the University of Leeds, Chris has been an active member of the society since 1995. Engaging with school outreach has been a long standing tradition of the society, fuelled by his belief that a child's curiosity about the natural world can be nurtured from the simplest level by the observations and discoveries which can be made through microscopy.

Dr. Andrew Scott FIMMM FRMS
Senior Lecturer in Materials at the University of Leeds and secretary of the IOM3 Materials Chemistry Committee, Andrew has extensive expertise of experimental and theoretical techniques, from both academic and industrial experience.

Dr. Tim Stevenson ProfGradIMMM
Tim is Chief Operating Officer of Ionix Advanced Technologies and has been a Research Fellow at the Institute for Materials Research, University of Leeds, since completing his Ph.D in Ferroelectric Ceramics in 2010. He holds a M.Eng degree in Materials Science and Engineering, and was awarded the Gold medal and the title of "Early Research Career Engineer" at Westminster in 2011 for impact on UK research. His research interests have included processing, synthesis and characterisation of high temperature piezoelectric bulk ceramics using laboratory electrical measurements, synchrotron and neutron diffraction to study phase and magnetic structure, as well as working at the University of Illinois, USA to investigate magneto-electric coupling.


Dr. Tim Comyn