Hong Kong Branch
11 Dec 2019

This year again, IOM3(HK) are very pleased by the response of the industry. Four finalists presented by the young Hong Kong scientists and engineers to take part in the final of the Young Persons’ Lecture Competition 2019 (Hong Kong Heat) on 19 June 2019. This year’s winner went to Mr. Franklin To. Franklin is a Chartered Engineer (CEng MIMMM MICE) and is currently working at AECOM.

Winner of YPLC 2019 (HK Heat) – Franklin To


Franklin won with his lecture “A Comparison of Empirical and Numerical Approaches for Estimating Rock Support Pressure on Tunnel Lining”. He expressed his excitement after receiving the winning certificate, “It is my great honour to be selected as the winner of the competition. I would like to take this opportunity to thanks IOM3 for organizing such a meaningful competition. It provides a great chance for young scientists and engineers to share and exchange their research and knowledge. I will continue my effort in preparing the presentation for the global finalist Young Persons' World Lecture Competition that will take place in London this coming October. I will do my best for it!".

The other four finalists (Faizi Saad Ali, Yahui Zhang and Lo Hong Hang) also delivered a great presentation. Below are their lecture presented:
Faizi Saad Ali (1st runner-up) - True Triaxial Testing of Transversely Isotropic Rocks - Using DEM Simulation 
Yahui Zhang (2nd runner-up) - Building and Testing Virtual Crystalline Materials
Lo Hong Hang - The Matherial Making Success of the World's Largest Toy Company  

Franklin will represent IOM3(HK) to attend the Young Persons' World Lecture Competition Final held in October 2019 in London. He is also awarded a prize of $1,000HKD.
We would like to thanks all four finalists in the competition and particular the judges, Dick Martin, Bob Evans and YC Lam, who had the challenging task to select the top three from the finalists. Special thanks to AECOM to provide the venue for the competition.  Finally, we wish Good luck to Franklin and enjoy the Competition in London.

1st runner-up: Faizi Saad Ali


2nd runner-up: Yahui Zhang


From left: YC Lam; Efi Fragkou; Faizi Saad Ali; Yahui Zhang; Franklin To; Lo Hong Hang; Bob Evans; Dick Martin


Thank you Judges!