

Winter Newsletter

February 2024

Council Elections.

At the 2023 Annual General Meeting held on-line on Tuesday 26th September, there were elections for President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer as well as two ordinary members of Council.

Dr Tiziana Marrocco who is Knowledge Exchange Manager at the University of Strathclyde's Advanced Materials Research Laboratory was elected President for 2023/25.

Professor Brad Wynne, Director of the Advanced Forming Research Centre and Head of Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Strathclyde, was elected Vice-President for 2023/25.

Two new members were appointed to Council. Graeme Cunningham, Technical Manager of Renishaw in Edinburgh where he leads an acoustics research and development team and Nadimul Faisal, Professor of Surface Engineering & Micromechanics at the Robert Gordon University (RGU), Aberdeen, UK. Their election ensures that Council has representation from the East and North of Scotland.

Dr John Wilcox and John Darling continue as Secretary and Treasurer respectively and Dr Tatyana Konkova, Senior Lecturer in Materials and Manufacturing at the University of Strathclyde was re-elected to serve a second term on Council.

The current Council now comprises eight nationalities and is as follows:

President: Dr Tiziana Marrocco (Strathclyde Uni)
Vice president: Prof Brad Wynne (Strathclyde Uni)

Secretary: Dr John Wilcox Treasurer: John Darling

Mr Peter Foele

Dr Peifeng Li (Glasgow Uni)

Dr Tatyana Konkova (Strathclyde Uni)

Prof Patricia Munoz (GCU)

Graeme Cunningham (Renishaw)

Prof. Nadimul Faisal (RGU).

In addition, active past-presidents remain ex-officio members of Council.

We have also invited Obey Suleyman to join Council to represent younger members. Obey is a research student at the University of Strathclyde.

NMIS Student Internships

The National Manufacturing Institute Scotland (NMIS) is once again looking for proposals for 12-week projects to be undertaken by university or college students this summer.

The Scottish Association for Metals is willing to co-sponsor one or two projects that contain a strong materials engineering element. So if you are an employer and can identify a suitable materials-related project, please share your ideas with SAM President, Tizi Marrocco (email tiziana.marrocco@strath.ac.uk) as soon as possible.

Young Persons Lecture Competition

Once again the Scottish Assoc for Metals is joining with the Mining Institute of Scotland in the organisation of the Scotland heat of the Institute of Materials Minerals and Mining young persons lecture competition. The heat will be held on **Weds 21 February at 2pm at St Andrews University.** There are cash prizes for all participants.

Those wishing to take part should complete the on-line form at https://www.iom3.org/events-awards/competitions/yplc/yplc-local-heats.html

The deadline for applications is Wed 14 February. Applicants need to be aged under 28 on 1 June 2024.

Forthcoming meetings programme

- or a rooming moodings programme					
	Date	Time	Activity	Title	Speaker/Location
21	Feb	14:00	IOM3 Lecture Competition	Scotland Heat	St Andrew's Uni
22	Feb	18:00	With WI Scotland North On-line lecture	"Stirring things up: Techniques for increasing the productivity of friction spot welding"	Jonathan Draper (Uni of Strathclyde)
19	March	18:00	On-line lecture	"Metal applications and manufacturing processes in Big Science"	Dr David Gray (A-V-S Ltd)
23	April	18:00	On-line lecture	Title to be announced.	Prof Moataz Attallah, Director, Advanced Materials Processing Lab, B'ham Uni.
14	May	18:30	SITE VISIT		NMIS, Inchinnan

All meetings are free of charge and are open to all but registration is required. Details can be found at www.scottishmetals.org/programme

IOM3 Scotland Representative

Following the unexpected and sudden death of David Seath, Secretary of the Mining Institute of Scotland, Dr Tiziana Marrocco was elected by IOM3 members in Scotland to be the Scotland Representative on the IOM3 Advisory Council. Tizi will also sit on the IOM3 Local Affairs Committee.

