Dr Alfred James Kennedy CBE FREng FIMMM (Obit)

Fellows' Lounge
27 Jan 2011

Dr Alfred James Kennedy CBE FREng FIMMM has passed away. He qualified with a degree in physics but made many distinguished scientific and technological contributions to metallurgy, many of them in an engineering oriented context. He was therefore particularly well equipped to discuss the role of the metallurgist as an engineer.

He published over 50 technical papers, particularly on creep and fatigue phenomena in a wide range of materials. Alfred was Professor of Materials at Cranfield Institute of Technology (1958-67) and subsequently Director of the British Non-Ferrous (BNF) Metals Technology Centre until the end of 1977.

In this post, he directed a large and highly qualified interdisciplinary team of scientists and engineers and played a major role in substantially broadening the base of BNF activities. He was Director of Delta Materials Research Ltd, Ipswich, from 1978 until 1981, when he took up the post of Deputy Director of the newly formed Technical Change Centre, which assesses the implications of technological innovation upon society as a whole.


Involvement in professional societies

Alfred was President of two forerunners of IOM3 – the Institute of Metals (from 1970-71) and the Institution of Metallurgists (from 1976-77), having been elected to Fellowship in 1960. He served on the Councils of both bodies, as well as those of The Metals Society (TMS) and the Institute of Physics. He was a Member of the Institution of Electrical Engineers, a Fellow of the American Society for Metals and an Honorary Member of TMS.

In 1977, TMS awarded him its Platinum Medal in recognition of his outstanding services to the non-ferrous metals industry. He was a member of the Science Research Council, Advisory Council for Applied Research and Development, and various other public bodies. He represented the former Institution of Metallurgists on the Board of the Council of Science and Technology Institutes.

Alfred was awarded a CBE in the 1979 New Years’ Honours List and was elected to the Fellowship of Engineering in February 1979.